It’s an old favorite… Chicken Gravy and Biscuits!

I always enjoyed chicken gravy growing up!  My mom bought 10-pounds bags of chicken leg quarters, so she made this recipe with chicken she cooked and took off the bones.  I made it slightly differently, with chicken breasts, but it was just as good!

My sister Tammy shared a similar version – chicken gravy with drop biscuits here.  I grew up with drop biscuits.  Mom was aghast the first time she saw me not measuring the shortening when I made them, but when mine turned out better than hers she named me the biscuit maker of the house.

Chicken Gravy and Biscuits

1 large chicken breast, cut into small cubes

1 teaspoon olive oil, to fry chicken

1 1/2 cups peas, fresh or frozen

1 1/2 cups carrots, fresh or frozen

paprika, salt, and minced garlic

2 cups chicken broth (or make two cups of chicken broth with bouillon and water)

1 cup water

1/2 cup flour

your favorite biscuit recipe or biscuits from a can

Directions:

1. Season chicken with several shakes of paprika, some granulated garlic, and salt.  In a large skillet, cook chicken in olive oil.  It works best for me to add about 1/4 cup of water and use the lid on the skillet.

2. While chicken is cooking, cook carrots and peas in a small saucepan with about 1/2 cup water until they are tender.  Also work on preparing your biscuits at this time.  When the vegetables are tender, add several shakes of salt.

3. When chicken is fully cooked, add the chicken broth to the skillet.  Add vegetables, and stir.

 

Yes, my tea kettle is ever-present on my stove!

4. Shake 1 cup water with 1/2 cup flour. (I do this in my Tupperware gravy shaker.  I’m so glad my mom had an extra one and gave it to me before I got married!)

5. Add the flour and water mixture to the gravy, stirring constantly.  Heat until boiling, then turn off and serve over hot biscuits.*

*You may need to add extra salt; just taste it to see.  I didn’t today, but I know that salt levels vary in chicken broths.

This recipe is a timeless faster alternative to chicken pot pie!  In fact, my parents like it a lot better than chicken pot pie.

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Bread, Chicken Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to It’s an old favorite… Chicken Gravy and Biscuits!

  1. Anna says:

    One of my all-time favorites! I’ve never made it this way, though. Thanks for the great idea! 🙂

  2. Teresa says:

    This looks like chicken a la king

  3. Oh, yum! Bookmarked to make with Thanksgiving leftovers next week. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

