Another Failure… Crock Pot Macaroni and Cheese

What can I say?

I guess this was just not meant to be.

Yeah, doesn’t it look awful?

Here’s what I did.

First of all, I didn’t have macaroni, so I started this recipe out with rotini pasta.  That substitution alone seemed innocent enough, but it gets better.  As you can see, I threw in a couple pieces of the multi-colored rotini pasta, because I ran out of the original.

Secondly, I didn’t have any saltine crackers.  My mom makes fabulous baked macaroni and cheese and she always uses some saltine crackers.  I decided that if I mixed some eggs with the milk, that would do the thickening trick.

So here I was, cooked pasta, milk, a can of evaporated milk (I saw a recipe using that one time), some salt, two eggs, onion, sharp cheddar, and some yogurt cheese all whipped up and put in the crock pot.  Yum, yum!

Thirdly, I had never made macaroni and cheese in a crock pot before.  I’ve baked it, and I’ve always loved the crunch edges.  I thought I should put the crock pot on high, but what actually happened was the edges burned.  What a bummer!

I cooked this for around 2 hours on high and it’s horrible looking and has the strangest texture around.  It’s runny-ish, but at the same time it’s not smooth at all… it’s like it has curdled milk in it, but I think that is the set-up eggs.  A lot of good those did!

So for all of you who expected a fantastic recipe this weekend… you might be out of luck.

Believe me; I’m as disappointed as you are. 😉

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Another Failure… Crock Pot Macaroni and Cheese

  1. petit4chocolatier says:

    Hang in there! I make many errors with cooking and baking; and have been doing so for many years! You just have to laugh! Your other creations outweigh an error once in awhile!

    Kindly,
    judy

  2. Bonnie, I think it’s great that you’re writing about the experiments that didn’t…uh…pan out. I tried making wasabi mac and cheese once, and it was so awful that I had to throw it out.

  3. It sounds like the liquid separated and broke. Maybe 2 hours on high was too hot too fast? I’m sure part of the problem was cooking it on high. The difference in pasta shouldn’t have made that much a difference, but the eggs may have been a decision that will serve as a “lesson learned” for future reference? I’ve cried, thrown entire crock pots into the trash and even said a few curse words over some of the colassal mistakes I’ve made in the kitchen! Generally you have such outstanding recipes, I wouldn’t even flinch if I were you……..by the time morning comes, you will have figured it all out! 🙂

    • Thanks for the tips, and the encouragement. 🙂 I really appreciate it!
      It has been a very positive day overall, but you know those days when nothing really goes wrong and you still feel “blah?” yuck. Especially at certain times of the month. 😉
      I hope sometime I am on the track of posting more good recipes again! lol 🙂

      • Yep, there’s one week a month we eat out or Mr. Picky eater cooks – it’s just a smart decision on his part !:) I’m sure the next recipe will be great!

  4. heartfelt hosting says:

    I just made that this week…and had epic failure as well! I had all the ingredients right, except for when it called for whole milk. I used heavy whipping cream instead because that was all I had. It still tasted all-right, but the texture was weird. Not creamy or cheesy tasting. We crunched up chips and put them on top to add a bit more flavor!

  5. I made a crockpot mac and cheese recipe a while ago (I used the one here: http://www.food.com/recipe/easy-crock-pot-macaroni-and-cheese-81853 ) and just added some extra seasoning to it (like I do with the regular mac and cheese recipe I make. It was really creamy, so if you like the crunchy kind, you could always brown some breadcrumbs and add them on top before serving?

  6. Katie says:

    Crock Pot macaroni and cheese is one of the only things that I’ve NEVER prepared successfully. So, sadly, I don’t have any advice for you, but you are definitely in good company!
    🙂

  7. Teresa says:

    You can’t allow milk or cream to boil. While cream and half-and-half won’t separate at high temperatures because of the fat content, milk will separate when it’s too high. I think you’re regular recipe with the crackers, etc., could be made in the crockpot with adjustments….cooking on low for one thing. If you let me have a look at the recipe and I’ll see what I can do with it. (The original recipe without any changes).

  8. I just recently started following you! love your page and the fact that you have a recipes that didnt work section! Look forward to more posts by you!

Leave a Reply

