Corndog Muffins

I saw this idea for corndog muffins on Money Saving Mom.  Although there was a link to her cornbread recipe and she did tell how she turned it into these muffins, I wasn’t 100% sure if I was doing it right.  They turned out just great, though, so I’ll share with you all how I made them.  I wasn’t sure how many muffins this recipe was supposed to make or how long to bake them, so my first batch wasn’t as successful as my second. 🙂

These really are fantastic and I’ve eaten far more than I should!  They are like corndogs on a stick only way easier! 🙂

Corndog Muffins

Honey Cornbread

1/2 pound of hotdogs (for me, that was 5 Oscar Meyer hotdogs)

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit and prepare the Honey Cornbread recipe, disregarding the baking directions.

2. Chop the hot dogs into small chunks/thin slices.

3. Grease 24 muffin cups.  Fill each section about half full so that all the batter can be evenly distributed into all 24 cups.  Sprinkle several pieces of hotdog into each cup.  When you’ve evenly distributed all the hot dogs, use a spoon to push the hotdog pieces under the batter.*

4. Bake for around 12-15 minutes or until slightly browned.**

*I found this to be easier than trying to partially fill the muffin cups, add the hotdogs, and then finish filling the cups.

** Check partway through the baking time! 🙂 Mine got kind of dark because my oven runs hot and I really have to keep tabs on it.

I really love these warm!  I froze some for using in lunches later, and wrapped the rest in plastic and put then in the refrigerator.  They are good plain, or with typical corndog condiments: mustard is my choice!

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Bread and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Corndog Muffins

  1. The thing I love about blogging and reading other people’s blogs is the timing of great ideas! This is post is one of them! I have some hot links in the fridge that I was wondering what to do with and this is the PERFECT idea for them. My hubby will love it!!

  2. my kids would probably love these for school lunches.

  3. Yeah, these are pretty much amazing.

  4. I’m going to make these for my kids as well. Thanks for posting!

  5. csamom says:

    These look absolutely addictive.

  6. Hi there! I wanted to let you know I nominated you for the Wonderful Team Membership Award. 🙂 Here is the link to let you know what to do: http://wp.me/p2GO4t-4K

  7. Caroline says:

    Thanks for giving the specifics of the recipe. I found you through your comment on MSM. I made them this afternoon and they are cooling now. Took 14 minutes in my oven. My kids are going to be so excited about their afternoon snack!

  8. Pingback: Corn Dog Muffins « Chatter from a Single Mom

  9. synthetikat says:

    I made these! They stuck to the pan thought because I didn’t have the proper cooking spray and I tried to just rub with olive oil instead. However! I thought they were pretty good and I don’t care for corn dogs. Boyfriend liked them and so did one of my friends! Success.

    • recipeshappen says:

      AWESOME!
      Thanks so much for letting me know how they went!
      Hmmm… I just use olive oil in a misto for greasing my muffin pans, but my pans are relatively new (wedding gift) so things slide out of them pretty easily.
      So glad they were a success!!

      • synthetikat says:

        I think its because I had to rub the oil on as I don’t have a mister/spray bottle for it 😦 But still good! Thanks for share such a fun/easy/inexpensive

  10. divadicucina says:

    Totally gonna have to try these! I know they will be a hit with my son! He loves a good corn dog. 🙂

  11. Jen says:

    Do you have to precook the hot dogs? I bought turkey dogs and Im not sure if they’re already cooked. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

