Saturday Upside: The Chain of Love

It’s unbelievable that another week has come and gone!  Time is flying and it’s getting colder and colder outside.  Don’t forget to check out this page for Saturday upsides from previous weeks.

Image from Aldi.us

My upside this week came from grocery shopping.  I had a really good shopping trip this week; I got a lot of good deals and I was really happy when we stopped at Aldi to pick up milk and eggs before heading home.

I think one thing that stands out about Aldi is putting a quarter in your cart.  I think it’s a brilliant idea, because that quarter keeps all of the carts nicely returned and not hitting cars or becoming a bother for store employees.  But seriously, hasn’t everyone had those moments where they leave their quarter in the car and have to go back for it?

As we were heading towards our carts, quarter in hand, someone gave us her cart and refused to take our quarter.  She said,

“Someone gave it to me!”

We were really happy about it and after our shopping was done we gave it to someone else.  It’s awesome to see the look a person’s face when you do something as simple as giving them a cart with a quarter in it!

The reason I chose this story for an upside is that we can create an upside in someone’s day by doing something as simple as giving them a cart at Aldi.  Passing along that cart was a wonderful addition to my day.

Want to play along?

**
You can also be involved in Saturday Upsides!  Just post your “Saturday Upside” on your blog with my “Saturday Upsides” picture and a link back here, comment on my blog with a link to your post, and I’ll add a link to your blog at the bottom of mine.

Everyone’s posts will be different; please use this “Saturday Upsides” post to share your own unique thoughts, picture/s, and bright sides!  I’d love to see posts all weekend, not just Saturday.
**

Links:

1. Freezer Burned – Up Up and Away (Saturday Upside)

2. Healthy Glow Nutrition – Saturday Upsides (Kind of)

3. Preservings – Saturday Upside (Kitchen Mistake turns positive!)

4. Food 4 Thought NYC – Saturday Upside: Version 2.0

5. Squirrel Circus – Feed a Cold

6. Preservings – “Mortgage lifter” Garden Tomatoes didn’t get rid of the Mortgage

7. You could be here!

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Saturday Upside: The Chain of Love

  1. Lin says:

    We don’t thave the cart quarter thing here so how does that work?

  2. They do that in the UK, only it’s a quid, at some of the shops. I think it’s brilliant.

  3. Healthy Glow Nutrition says:
  4. Hiya- Loved your post. 🙂

    Here’s my upside for the week http://food4thoughtnyc.wordpress.com/2012/09/29/saturday-upside-version-2-0/ – Lovely to see so many people sharing theirs as well! Hope you’re having a great Saturday and that you enjoy the rest of your weekend.

  5. Pingback: Saturday Upsides: Feed a Cold « squirrel circus

  6. Great “pay it forward” story. Amazing how saving someone a quarter can make their day (and yours!)
    Here’s my link for this week…
    http://squirrelcircus.wordpress.com/2012/09/29/saturday-upsides-feed-a-cold/

Leave a Reply

