Slow Cooker Ham and Pinto Soup

It’s that time of year again!  It’s time for soups, sweaters, hot cocoa, and pumpkin rolls!

I didn’t realize before how much Bogdan liked bean soup, but after making this for him I know I will have to do it again soon.

I’m so excited to share how I made this soup, but first I have to let you know that everything in this recipe is approximate.  I’ll tell you how I did it, but there is definitely room for alterations based on what you have available.  Also, this amount of soup would really only be good for 2-4 people at one meal, so you might want to make more than I did.

Slow Cooker Ham and Pinto Soup

10-11 ounces of dried pinto beans (I am estimating because I used 1/3 of a 2 pound bag from Aldi)

1 large onion, chopped

1/2-1 teaspoon salt, to taste

1/4 teaspoon granulated garlic or one clove garlic, chopped

several shakes of chili powder

1/2-1 cup chopped ham

3 medium-large tomatoes, peeled and chopped

Directions:

1. Place the beans in a slow cooker and cover with cold water.  Cover and let sit overnight.

2. In the morning, drain the water and again cover the beans with water – an inch or two above the beans.  Add the onion, garlic, salt, and chili powder to the beans and cook on high for about 3 hours.

3. Add the ham and cook for another hour.  Add the tomatoes and cook for another hour.

The great thing about this soup is that it’s so easy and you can just forget about it while you go about your day.  The times for cooking do not have to be really specific.  You can also add the ham right when you add the onion, but you should wait until closer to the end to add the tomato.

Want to leave your soup for longer, or while you’re at work?  Put it on low.

Is anyone else excited for fall recipes?

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Soups and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Slow Cooker Ham and Pinto Soup

  1. Katie says:

    You know, it’s a good thing I decided to check you blog while making my grocery list, because now I can add ham to it! This looks great!

  2. petit4chocolatier says:

    This looks really good! Yes, I am ready for fall too!

  3. csamom says:

    I still have 23 lbs. of pinto beans to use. This is next! Thank you.

    • recipeshappen says:

      You’re welcome!
      Wow, that’s a lot of pintos! I love pinto beans, though! This soup is so fantastic; I hope you can make it sometime.

  4. Pingback: Chicken Pot Pie from leftover Fajitas | csamom

  5. Pingback: Ham, Pinto, and Rice Soup | Recipes Happen

Leave a Reply

