Rosemary Red Potatoes

I love red potatoes.  Imagine my delight that Aldi had them on sale this past week, 3 pounds for $0.79! (Have I mentioned lately that I love buying produce at Aldi?)

Rosemary Red Potatoes

1 1/2 pounds red potatoes, washed and halved or quartered (depending on size)

3/4-1 teaspoon dried rosemary

1/4 teaspoon granulated garlic

3 tablespoons butter

1/4 teaspoon dried parsley flakes

several grinds of black pepper

several sprinkles of onion powder

salt to taste

1 teaspoon Italian dressing, optional

Directions:

1. In a saucepan, cover potatoes in water and add rosemary, garlic, black pepper, parsley, and onion powder.  Cover, and heat to boiling.  Reduce heat and simmer until potatoes are tender.  Drain. (Some of the spices will drain off during cooking, but I think it’s important to cook the spices with the potatoes.)

2. Add butter and (optional) Italian dressing and gently stir into potatoes.  Salt to taste.

I think the Italian dressing added a lot of flavor, but I also seem to add it to everything.  Try it without first, and add it if you feel something is missing. 🙂 I do realize that not everyone is an Italian dressing freak like me.  Also, if there are more than one or two people eating at this meal, make a double batch.  These potatoes are delicious.

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Side Dishes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Rosemary Red Potatoes

  1. Anna says:

    I do something similar when I cook with red potatoes. They are my favorite!

  2. Beth says:

    I sooooo wish we had an Aldi’s!! The closest one is a state or two away 😛

  3. So, I’ve GOT to get to our ALDI already! You and I “talked” about it in the past — this produce is TOO good to pass up 🙂

Leave a Reply

