Saturday Upsides: Cream of Asparagus Soup

This is my third week for “Saturday Upsides.”  You can check out my previous weeks here and here!

I had two cans of asparagus sitting on my shelf since getting married.  I know.  Cans of asparagus.  That doesn’t sound very appetizing, does it?  They were given to me, though, and I definitely didn’t want to throw them out or try to underhandedly re-gift them. 😉

I spent some time pondering how I should use these cans up, because I really only like asparagus if it’s fresh and lightly fried.  I was given some great ideas from friends online, and then I remembered this cream of asparagus soup recipe my sister Tammy had posted quite some time ago.

It turned out pretty well!  I made it slightly differently than the recipe she shared, because I didn’t have fresh asparagus.  (I blended all of it, not just part of it.) It tasted great!

This is a way I saved money on a meal by using something I had, but also by being creative.  This is not my absolute favorite soup in the world, but it’s good, and fun for a change!

Plus, it’s pretty and green. 🙂

Who knew that canned asparagus could have an upside??

Want to play along?

**
You can also be involved in Saturday Upsides!  Just post your “Saturday Upside” on your blog with my “Saturday Upsides” picture and a link back here, comment on my blog with a link to your post, and I’ll add a link to your blog at the bottom of mine.

Everyone’s posts will be different; please use this “Saturday Upsides” post to share your own unique thoughts, picture/s, and bright sides!  I’d love to see posts all weekend, not just Saturday.
**

Links:

1. Joyous Paradox – Saturday Upsides 9/22

2. Food 4 Thought NYC – Saturday Upside: You Gotta Look Down First

3. Healthy Glow Nutrition – Saturday Upsides

4. CSA Mom – First Saturday Upside Post!

5. Findingelina – Turn that Frown Upside Down

6. Freezer Burned: A Late Saturday Upside

7. Squirrel Circus – Saturday Upsides: Happy Birthday to Me

8. Preservings: Finding the Positive!

9. You could be here!!

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Saturday Upsides: Cream of Asparagus Soup

  1. Bonnie, I’m joining you with a new Saturday Upsides post: http://joyousparadox.com/2012/09/22/saturday-upsides-9222012/. PS: I love cream of asparagus soup.

  2. Hey Bonnie- Happy Saturday! Here’s this weeks post: http://wp.me/p2FRg6-6v. Thanks for sharing and hmm, asparagus soup…gotta try that! 🙂

  3. csamom says:

    I finally found an upside. The link to my post is at http://csa-mom.com/2012/09/22/saturday-upsides-recipes-happen/.

    I’m glad you found a use for your canned asparagus. Hopefully they won’t appear again.

  4. Oh, okay, this is where I need to give you my link to my Saturday (a day late) upside post. http://freezerburned-suddenlysusan.blogspot.com/2012/09/a-late-saturday-upside.html

    How much fun!!!

  5. Pingback: Saturday Upsides: Happy Birthday to Me! « squirrel circus

  6. tjthiessen says:

    Oops I forgot to link my Saturday Upside here! Posted Sunday morning, but it is about Saturday! 😉 http://preservings.wordpress.com/2012/09/23/saturday-upsides-finding-the-positive/

Leave a Reply

