Stuffed Peppers with Homemade Tomato Soup

I really, really enjoyed the homemade tomato soup I made last week, so I decided to make some more.  Also, I wanted to make some stuffed peppers, and I always put tomato soup on those.  It was perfect timing!

My mom gave me some more great tomatoes and bell peppers from her garden.  That really cuts down on my grocery bill, because I can use tomatoes for so many things – my enchiladas, salads, sandwiches, soups, and more.  Stuffed peppers was my favorite dish for as young as I can remember until I was about 14!  I requested it every birthday.  My mom made them, and my grandma before her.

You can check out my sister Tammy’s version of this recipe here – it’s obviously very similar.

Stuffed Peppers

3 medium-large bell peppers, any color

1 pound ground beef (ground chuck is preferable)

2 eggs

1/2 medium-large onion, chopped

1/2 cup rolled oats

1/2 cup milk

1/2 cup white rice, uncooked

several grinds of black pepper

Around 3 cups tomato soup (If you are using tomato soup from a can, I think that one small can with the water added to it should be about enough, but it’s personal preference.)

Directions:

1. Wash the peppers and cut the stems out.  Cut each pepper in half from top to bottom, so that each half of the pepper can be stuffed.  You can also just slice off the top of the pepper and stuff the entire thing, but I prefer to stuff the halves.

2. In a medium bowl, combine the beef, eggs, onion, oats, milk, rice, and pepper.  I use my hands to mix this, but I do not care for the feel and grease of raw beef, so I do use kitchen one-time-use gloves.

3. Stuff the pepper halves with the filling.  If you like more filling than pepper, “round” the filling out more.  Place all the peppers filling-up in a baking dish.  Pour the tomato soup over the peppers.

4. Bake, covered, for 3 hours at 300 degrees Fahrenheit.

I must confess that I do not have a dish with a cover, and no baking dish that is very deep!  That said, I don’t really like using aluminum foil to cover acidic dishes like this one with tomatoes.  I did leave mine uncovered, but I had to add more tomato soup to the top about every hour.  They were still delicious.  I would suggest using a covered dish if you can, though!

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Beef Entrees and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Stuffed Peppers with Homemade Tomato Soup

  1. The Perfectly Imperfect One says:

    I was going to make these last week, but found out my hubby doesn’t like green peppers 😦 I may make them anyway because they are so yummy!

    • When I was younger, my brother didn’t like the green pepper part either. My mom would make the dish regularly but add a ball of the filling without the pepper in there for him! It still tasted really good, I guess, and he didn’t have to eat the pepper. 🙂

  2. Healthy Glow Nutrition says:

    These look yummy Bonnie! I grew up eating stuffed peppers, they were a regular in my house. I haven’t made them in ages though and this is a great reminder. Thanks for the recipe 🙂

  3. Kris K says:

    One of the ways I make this a dollar stretcher is by using half and half ground meat and grains like kasha, barley or rice (preferably brown as it’s a bit less soft). It’s a bit less meaty, but we’ve found it as filling.

Leave a Reply

