Recipes that didn’t Happen: Droopy Mozzarella Sticks

I hope the horrible stories I have been telling lately are not ruining my reputation!  That is, as much as I have a reputation, or one that could be ruined.

This week I “splurged” (with coupons and a sale at Meijer) on some mozzarella sticks, for the sole purpose of making baked mozzarella sticks to dip in marinara sauce!  As you can see, as far as dipping goes they left a lot to be desired.

This is how I ruined these:

1. I didn’t follow a recipe, because I’ve seen lots of recipes for these lately and they all seem the same.  They also seemed really, really simple, but I now know that they really are not.  Or else people are being misleading about their recipes, which is also quite possible I suppose.

2. I cut the cheese sticks in half, dipped them in egg, then in flour, then in seasoned breadcrumbs I made by crushing some of my homemade croutons with a rolling pin.  I thought that seemed like the right course of action, but apparently it was very wrong.

3. I baked them on a greased cookie sheet for about 6 minutes.  They were a total failure.  We had to eat them with forks.  Mozzarella sticks are not meant to be eaten with forks.

Once again, I have failed as a food blogger!!  I need help!!  How do you make these work??

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Recipes that didn’t Happen: Droopy Mozzarella Sticks

  1. Well, shoot. Sorry about that. Perhaps undippable, but they still look quite tasty.

    • My husband said, “They can’t be bad! They’re just cheese!” Which I suppose was/is true. 🙂

      They were still “ok,” but I want to make restaurant-quality mozzarella sticks. 🙂

  2. Bahaha thank you for making my day! I saw the first picture on my wordpress “reader” feed and I burst out laughing. 🙂 It’s gonna be a great start to the week (and PS I still woulda eaten those…add a little marinara sauce, it’s all good!). Maybe try a higher temperature next time, and put them on a wire rack on top of a baking sheet? Idk!

    • Well… your comment made my day. 😉 I’m glad to know that posts like these are increasing my appeal, not diminishing it… ?? 😀

      A higher temperature might work. But what do I know?!

      I am enjoying this theme of Recipes that didn’t Happen… lol.

  3. Healthy Glow Nutrition says:

    Confession: I usually fry mine at a pretty high temp. I hardly ever fry anything, but these would be the exception. I think it kind of “seals” the cheese. I know it isn’t healthy advice coming from me but that’s the only way I ever made them 🙂

  4. Healthy Glow Nutrition says:

    No problem 🙂 Heat the oil for the same temp as french fries, i don’t have a thermometer so I just drop some crumbs and when it bubbles it should be good to go. I need to make these, it has been a LONG while. And no, you’re the best! 🙂

  5. Katie says:

    I personally haven’t tried it yet, but I’ve heard that freezing the cheese beforehand yields better results (because the cheese doesn’t instantly melt everywhere).
    I’m really digging the Recipes That Didn’t Happen section of your blog – we’ve all been there!

  6. I’ve never made these, but I think I would definitely fry them.
    What I love about your blog is that you put your “fails” right up front for all to see! What a great way to get feedback on how to make it better next time and, more importantly, it makes you seem so real. Thanks for sharing!

  7. They say that freezing the cheese before dipping and baking makes them turn out right. If you don’t, they melt through the flour, eggs and breadcrumbs?! Hope that helps! 🙂

  8. Thanks for stopping by my blog! Visiting yours is a little like looking in the mirror today… So much like my layout/post! It’s good to know I’m not the only one who fails in the kitchen sometimes 🙂

  9. Been there, done that, same results. And, I have no idea why either.

  10. Allison says:

    After breading the cheese sticks put them in the freezer for a few minutes and then fry them. I have made them this way twice and they turned out great. Good luck!

  11. Suzie says:

    At least you have a great sense of humor about it! 🙂

  12. lily says:

    I smile when I see the Recipes That Didn’t Happen. They make me feel like I’m not the only human ’round here and I like to read how others troubleshoot for you. : ) Good cooks can’t be afraid to experiment, and you clearly are not. Carry on! ~ Lily

    • Thanks, Lily!
      I’m glad you enjoy seeing it, since my recipes haven’t been happening lately. 🙂 It’s a good way for me to say, “Hey, I’m still cooking! I am just not making anything good.” lol 🙂

      thanks for the nice comment!

  13. Deirdre says:

    Just stick them in the freezer for a couple of hours after cutting them in half and before breading and they will be tasty and totally dippable once they’re done baking! (I definitely made the same mistake the first time I made them!)

    Deirdre
    http://lauerland.wordpress.com/

  14. I would have done the same thing you did. So this comment thread is very helpful.

  15. I love this series! I have a whole folder of photos of recipes that also didn’t happen… makes me think I should crack them out:)

  16. babso2you says:

    No idea how you get these to work, but you know what? At least you tried and your post is great! Not many will feature something that does not work right. I applaud you!

  17. I used a ball of mozzarella and sliced it, then pan-fried it and it was fine. 🙂

  18. mbarriedesigns says:

    As disappointing as these recipes seem, they do make for some entertaining reading! Sometimes recipes are just duds!

  19. Phô mai que says:

    Your cheese sticks look so yummy. This food is always my favorite. Thanks for the recipe, Bonnie!

Leave a Reply

