Recipes that didn’t Happen: Pizza Biscuits

I’ve posted before about my Cheesecake Disaster and my Breakfast Disaster, but the truth is I could post something every day about some awful thing I tried.  Don’t worry, I’m not going to do that.

There is, however, a page devoted to the compilation of those stories on my website.  I have changed it’s name from “Kitchen Disasters” to “Recipes that didn’t Happen,” to stick with my blog’s style.  And of course, I have an addition to that page tonight.

I’ve seen those infamous little pizzas in a muffin pan made with canned biscuits all over the web lately.  I thought everyone was raving about them, but they must be making them differently than I did!  That’s what I tried tonight.  Don’t do it the way I did!

I sliced the biscuits in half, because they were those big Pillsbury Grands biscuits, and I wanted to be able to put more than just the biscuit in the muffin pan sections.  I pressed the dough down a little and added sauce, cheese, and tomato chunks. (I love tomatoes on pizza.)

WELL.

Don’t they look innocent?

Not anymore.

Those goofy things swell up so much that it’s basically like you’re eating a biscuit with a barely-noticeable filling.  The biscuit literally engulfs the topping.

Any advice??

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Recipes that didn’t Happen: Pizza Biscuits

  1. Elizabeth D says:

    Maybe use crescent rolls instead? Much thinner and don’t have quite the volume or dryness.

  2. Elizabeth E Pruett says:

    The funny thing is, they look good, so you could have raved about how delicious they were, and we would never know the difference! Thanks for not doing that. 🙂

  3. I have absolutely no advice. But I love your idea of sharing the “recipes that didn’t happen”. It made me smile. Very clever and genuine.

  4. We make them with small biscuits, and you have to pre bake them a bit, like 4 minutes to get them to rise, then you poke down the center and then top them and bake again.

  5. babso2you says:

    Take the biscuit dough and flatten it for individual little pizzas and cook them on a baking sheet rather than a muffin pan. Pre-bake the dough for half the cooking time then add the toppings. This might work…

  6. Suzie says:

    Lol! I love that you have a place for “things gone wrong” in the kitchen. I had to laugh at how much they puffed up! I’ve had my share of disasters too and much worse than this 😉

  7. Perfect tweak of your blog title! Very funny. I agree with Elizabeth; I wouldn’t have known they were a “disaster” if you hadn’t said 🙂

Leave a Reply

