Homemade Chicken Chili

My beef chili went over so well with my husband last week I decided to make it again.  However, I didn’t have any ground beef. (I’ve been waiting for a good sale… maybe next week!) I was also nearly out of chicken breast, but I had one left in the freezer so I adjusted my beef chili recipe and made this soup.  Yes, I’m waiting for a good sale on chicken, too. 🙂 My cupboards and freezer are filled with other things currently. 🙂

Chicken Chili

1-3 chicken breasts, cubed (depending on how much you have/like)

1 bell pepper, diced

1/2 medium-large onion, diced

1 clove garlic, diced, or 1/4-1/2 teaspoon granulated garlic

1 can kidney beans, drained (I used a 15.5 oz. can)

1 can corn, drained, or approximately 1 cup frozen or freshly cooked corn

approximately 8 medium-large tomatoes, diced (I peeled mine, but you don’t have to)

1 large jalapeno, diced

2 teaspoons sugar

1 teaspoon salt (to taste)

1/2-1 tablespoon chili powder (to taste)

sliced fresh or frozen mushrooms, optional

Directions:

1. In a medium-large saucepan, cook peppers, onion, mushrooms, and chicken until done.  Add tomato chunks and heat until boiling.  Turn burner to low.

2. Add the garlic, kidney beans, corn, sugar, salt, and chili powder.

3. Simmer for 15-30 minutes and serve with shredded mozzarella sprinkled on top of each bowl.

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Chicken Recipes, Soups and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Homemade Chicken Chili

  1. That does look yummy….love stuff like this when its starts getting cold.

  2. Pingback: Corn and Potato Chowder | Recipes Happen

  3. Pingback: Three-Day Menu | Recipes Happen

  4. Chef Randall says:

    I never had chicken chilli before. Very inventive Bonnie. I read your post today. Nwely married? Your doing fine. My wife and I have 24 years this March. There is going to be ups and downs always. If you don’t suceed at a goal, just keep trying. That’s how marriage is trail and try again. Your looks like an understanding guy. I look forward to your next Saturday upside. Thanks for sharing your blog with us’ 🙂

    Chef Randall
    savorthefood.wordpress.com

  5. Pingback: Menu Update + Another Menu | Recipes Happen

Leave a Reply

