Homemade Better-than-Campbell’s Tomato Soup

I’ve mentioned before that my mom has some pretty great recipes.  This is another one of her recipes that is tried, true, and fabulous!

Growing up, my mom made this tomato soup recipe in the summer and canned it for grilled-cheese-and-tomato-soup-suppers all year long.  In fact, when I asked her for the recipe she had to trim it down from 10 quarts to 1 quart for me. 🙂

My mom gave me some more perfect tomatoes from her garden, so I was eager to make this soup for supper.  I served this with French Onion Grilled Cheese sandwiches, a recipe I’ll share posthaste!

I started this recipe after getting home from work at 6:30 in the evening, and by the time I had all of supper made it was getting dark.  I didn’t get fabulous photos, but I couldn’t spend this long on a meal and not blog about it! 😉 (What a waste that would be, right?)

Better-than-Campbell’s Tomato Soup

Approximately 1 quart tomatoes

1/2 onion, chopped into chunks

2 tablespoons sugar

1 teaspoon salt

several grinds of black pepper

1 rib of celery, chopped

3 tablespoons butter

3 tablespoons flour

Directions:

If you have a colander, follow these beginning directions:

1. Remove cores and bad spots and chop tomatoes into fourths.

2.. Heat tomatoes, celery, and onion in a stock pot and boil for about 15 minutes or until done.  Run through colander to remove seeds and skin.

3. Mix into the juice the sugar, salt, and pepper.

If you have a blender but not a colander (hello, ME!), follow these beginning directions:

1. Peel tomatoes.

(I do this by “scalding” them with boiling water and pulling the skins off with my fingers.  If you are not familiar with this, here is how I do it.  Cut the cores and any bad spots out of your tomatoes, and place them in a metal bowl or pan.  Pour boiling water over tomatoes and let sit for several minutes.  The skin will come off very easily.)

Great-looking tomatoes ready to be scalded!

2. Chop tomatoes in fourths, and add the tomatoes, onion, celery, sugar, salt, and pepper to a medium stock pot.  Heat to boiling and boil for about 15 minutes or until done.

3. Pour into a blender and blend on high until smooth. (If your blender is like mine, it may still have some seeds, but that’s fine.) *

My blender in motion… also again featuring my epic green stove!

Whichever method you used so far, colander or blender, follow the rest of these instructions:

4. Heat butter in a small saucepan.  When melted, turn off burner and add flour.  Stir until smooth.

5. Gradually add the tomato juice mixture to butter, stirring constantly.  When you have combined several cups and butter/flour mixture is getting runny, combine both the rest of the juice with the butter/flour mixture in the medium saucepan and stir until mixed.

I tried to demonstrate how I gradually added the tomato mixture to the butter/flour, so no lumps would form!  As you can see, I *tsk, tsk* wasn’t wearing an apron in this instance, and will now have stains to clean out of my shirt.

6. Add an additional cup of water or milk for serving.  (I just shook the additional water in my blender to clean out the juice.)

* Be careful mixing the boiling juice in the blender!  I achieved a burn on my arm.  Put that blender lid all the way down, and also pour carefully!

Making this recipe at home didn’t really save me much over buying a can of tomato soup, but it is so much better!  I also know every ingredient that went into it.

PS: It didn’t occur to me until after I had this post done that my sister Tammy might have blogged about this awesome recipe sometime in the past!  Here is a link to her rendition of this recipe, with some great pictures! (Obviously not taken at nighttime in my windowless kitchen. :)) Tammy also talks about the canning aspect of this recipe, and gives the directions for a huge batch. 🙂

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Soups and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Homemade Better-than-Campbell’s Tomato Soup

  1. Pingback: French Onion Grilled Cheese Sandwiches | Recipes Happen

  2. beautiful photos….I bet it tasted great! All those fresh ingredients. Your kitchen is adorable~even your epic green stove.

  3. Healthy Glow Nutrition says:

    Great photos, it looks delicious. I have never made a tomato soup before, now I just might 😉 And i love your stove by the way, it’s got a cool vintage vibe, I really like that look. Mine is your typical white boring apartment one 😦

  4. Marius says:

    Nice pictures … great stove … wonderful recipe. My mom has one similar. Full of vitamins and a lot of lycopene. Very tasty.
    For the warm days you may try the spanish version with garlic and not boiled (gazpacho).

  5. Suzie says:

    Ah. your Mom’s soup recipe looks good too. I bet this and those grilled onion sandwiches were perfect together 🙂 I love fall-like food such as this.

  6. Samantha says:

    That is almost exactly like my Mom’s recipe! We just made another canner load full of tomato soup; Mmm! It will be very enjoyable this winter.

  7. mayrapereznatzmer says:

    Reblogged this on Mayra Perez Natzmer and commented:
    Hello Bonnie, I LOVE your blog!

  8. Pingback: Stuffed Peppers with Homemade Tomato Soup | Recipes Happen

  9. Oh yes, this is going in my favorites, and I hope you don’t mind that I post a link to your site on mine so more people can find you and your wonderful recipes. Have a fantastic weekend!

  10. Pingback: Three-Day Menu | Recipes Happen

  11. Pingback: Menu Update + Another Menu | Recipes Happen

  12. Amy says:

    Can you can it using a pressure canner?

  13. dealfinder says:

    Love this soup! The last few times we bought Campbell’s we have been less than thrilled. Flavor is just off and we don’t like the ingredient list. This is exactly what I have been looking for; all natural, fresh and healthy ingredients. I even substituted gluten free flour for the roux. Planning to make a huge batch for canning later this week. Thanks so much for sharing.

  14. John says:

    your really cute! and I’m making this tonight

  15. John says:

    Made it last night, tastes exactly like campbells, I used water instead of milk, and half the salt, half the sugar, and used whole canned tomatoes instead of fresh. Thanks for the recipe, will deffinately make again.

Leave a Reply

