French Onion Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

I definitely swooned when I saw this idea.  French Onion Grilled Cheese?  Yes, please!

I’ll share with you my take on this recipe, but make sure you check out the original as well to see what I changed or did the same. 🙂

French Onion Grilled Cheese

1 large onion, sliced

1 tablespoon butter

1 teaspoon sugar

1 beef bouillon cube

1/2 cup hot water

1 teaspoon mustard

2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce

bread

sliced Swiss cheese

Directions:

1. Fry onion in skillet with sugar and butter until softened.

2. Dissolve bouillon cube in water and add to onions in skillet, along with the mustard and Worcestershire sauce.  Keep on high (boiling) until water is cooked down.

3. Assemble each sandwich with Swiss cheese and onions, and place onto a greased griddle or grill.  Fry until lightly browned.

These sandwiches were so good with my homemade tomato soup!!

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in sandwiches and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to French Onion Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

  1. Healthy Glow Nutrition says:

    mmmmnnnn this would go great with your yummy tomato soup 😉

  2. Oh boy, those look GOOD! 🙂

  3. Suzie says:

    Those look fantastic! Now I have to check out your soup 🙂

  4. Jaclynn says:

    This looks like a keeper…definitely delicious, making my mouth water and a great accompaniment to the soup! mmmm!

  5. Margaret says:

    This looks amazing!

  6. OMG- this looks DELICIOUS!!! Will definitely try this out. Quick question- what kind of camera do you use? I really love the quality of your pics.

    • I hope you get to try it – you won’t be disappointed! 🙂

      My camera is a lil’ bitty Nikon Coolpix 5630 that I got for less than $100 on ebay (new, with accessories) a while back. I got it because it’s compact. I usually use it on macro, without the flash. Natural light is the best for pictures of food…. HOWEVER, I have a dimly lit apartment, so I almost always take my food over to the window/front door for pictures. 🙂

      As far as cameras go, I don’t believe in buying the ones that have JUST come out. LOL

      I go to this site:
      http://www.imaging-resource.com/ and look at models of cameras based on brands I like, and the choose a model they maybe just stopped making. (This site tells all about the cameras and the original retail price.) Then I go on ebay. You’ll get a camera for a WAY better price than if you get something equivalent that came out this year. And seriously, unless you’re spending thousands of dollars for your camera, you can get a model that they made last year. 🙂

      One last thing: I wouldn’t totally recommend my camera, but I got it because it’s compact.

      • Thanks a ton for your advice! I’m on a serious camera hunt. I’m currently using a Nikon Coolpix S3000 which I also got because of its compact size (and its pretty purple color!). Now that I’m taking these super-closeup shots, I’m seeing that it’s severely lacking that crisp focus I’m looking for in my shots. I don’t want to spend hundreds of dollars on a camera that’s difficult to use either. But I’ll definitely take a look at that site you mentioned and crosscheck with ebay. Thanks again!!

      • You’re quite welcome!!

  7. babso2you says:

    What makes a regular onion a “French” onion?

  8. This looks great! Thanks for linking back to my post as well. I appreciate. it. Didn’t think to pair it with tomato soup so I’ll have to try that.

  9. Jillian says:

    Ooooh… looks super delish! I’m always up for different kinds of grilled cheese sandwhiches 🙂

    http://www.myboulangerie.wordpress.com

  10. synthetikat says:

    This sounds fantastic. Once or twice per winter I make a homemade french onion soup and despite just having had dinner this is making my mouth water. I can’t wait to try it out.

    What kind of bread did you use? As far as soup goes I usually use french but I’m thinking rye might be good too.

  11. Another grilled cheese recipe? YES! Grilled cheese is one of my favorite dinners and these sound awesome!

  12. Pingback: Kitchen Tip Tuesdays: Indoor Grills | Recipes Happen

  13. Williemae Wessell says:

    There are also a number of additions that can go into a grilled cheese sandwich, like ham, tomato, herbs and spices, or sauces like ketchup or mustard. Some of these will go between the slices of bread before the grilling takes place, and some are sprinkled on the top or used as a dip. Many Canadians enjoy dipping their sandwiches in ketchup or applesauce, while people in the United States tend to prefer their sandwiches with tomato soup or French fries on the side.;

    My own, personal blog site
    <http://www.beautyfashiondigest.com/best-full-coverage-foundation/

Leave a Reply

