Kitchen Tip Tuesdays: How to Get Bread to Rise (Works every time!)

Linked up to Tammy’s Recipes

This week I want to talk about how you get your bread to rise perfectly every time.

I was recently asked on my Homemade Pizza post about how long it should take for bread dough to get to double.  This is something I barely even give thought to anymore when making homemade breads, because of the easy way I “help” my bread rise!  This idea is not original to me, but I’m sure it will be new and helpful to some of you.

When you have kneaded dough to it’s desired consistency and are about to let it sit, covered, to rise to double, follow these steps:

1. Heat oven to about 110 degrees Fahrenheit (I just guess with mine!).

2. Heat water to boiling and pour into a mug or (I prefer) a bread pan.  Place that mug or pan on the oven rack, and place the bowl of bread dough beside it. (Or above or below it; but I only have one rack. :))

The water will keep the dough from drying out in the oven, but you don’t have to cover the dough this way.

3. Let sit until dough is double!  This usually takes around 45 minutes with a small batch of bread/pizza, possibly more with a large batch.  Just keep an eye on it.  Sometimes it’s faster!

This makes the dough rise faster in a cool house, and the hot water keeps the dough the perfect consistency!  I never just let my dough rise on the counter top anymore.

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Bread, Kitchen Tip and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Kitchen Tip Tuesdays: How to Get Bread to Rise (Works every time!)

  1. Healthy Glow Nutrition says:

    Excellent tip Bonnie! It worked for me on Saturday night 🙂 Thanks again! The pizza’s were so yummy.

    • 🙂
      Such a good thing to hear!!
      Since you asked me about this, it made me think it would be a good thing to share! I know my sister Tammy has mentioned this on her site before, but it’s always a great reminder!

      • Healthy Glow Nutrition says:

        Thanks again. You have made it super easy and I will use your recipe every time we make pizza 🙂 Great tips 🙂

  2. Suzie says:

    Great idea! Thanks for sharing!

  3. I try to coordinate a load of dishes and my bread making so that when the dishwasher is done the bread is ready to rise. I quickly put the dishes away and let my bread rise in the warm steamy dishwasher.

  4. Rebecca Lee says:

    Hi, I’m Rebecca, I boil some water in a big pot then turn it off then put a stand or a bowl and make sure that your bread pan does not touch the hot water then place your bread inside and cover your pot’s cover with your kitchen towel then cover the pot and stand for 10 mins, open it to check. Continue to let it stands inside the pot until your bread rise to your wish !!

  5. Pingback: More Homemade Pizza! | Recipes Happen

Leave a Reply

