Homemade Croutons

When I got married just over three months ago, we had quite a bit of food left over from the reception.  My mom, being the awesome person that she is, froze leftover buns, meat, and vegetables for me. (I used some green peppers in my chili, and we’ve been enjoying the meat and buns as well!)

However, there’s only so many white buns I can eat.

So I made croutons!

In case not everyone knows how to make croutons, I thought I’d share how I do it.

Homemade Croutons

Ingredients:

– Bread or buns, cut into cubes

– olive oil (I used about 1/8-1/4 cup for 8 buns)

– salt and pepper

– garlic and onion powder (about 1/4 teaspoon of each for 8 buns)

optional: I added dried dill weed this time just because I thought the little green specks would look good.  I couldn’t really taste it.  You can add anything that sounds good to you.

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

2. Pour the oil into a cookie sheet and add the salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, and any optional seasonings.  Stir the bread cubes in the oil on the cookie sheet as well as possible.  Spread the cubes out.  They don’t have to be completely single layer.

3. Bake at 350 degrees for approximately 15-18 minutes, checking and stirring at first every 5-8 minutes, then about every 4 minutes until bread is slightly browned.

4. Let cool and store in plastic bags.

Since croutons are not really expensive in the store, if you are going to make these with bread you went out and bought for this purpose, I don’t think it’d be that much different in price than buying croutons. (Unless you get some really cheap white bread.) This does, however, save me money because I have bread that needs to be used and it prevents me from the urge to buy croutons.

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Bread, Salads and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Homemade Croutons

  1. Love it! I always have rolls that have gotten a bit too stale for sandwiches, but would be great as croutons. 🙂

  2. Jaclynn says:

    Great idea! I’m made my own before, but not in awhile. My friend, Donna, makes excellent ones though (she’s a great cook and inspires me), so I might just have to try your recipe soon! 😀

  3. I really like the idea od homemade croutons, but I never get around to doing it!

  4. Great idea on how to use left over or stale bread!

  5. There are few things I consider a bigger waste of money at the grocery store than bread crumbs and croutons. My mother and grandmother always made their own because they had no choice. But homemade is so much better tasting, too. Your way not only saves money and waste, it gives you control over the seasonings and fat content. Bravo!

  6. aliegan says:

    This is almost exactly how I make my croutons, which I was going to blog about next time I make them. Since I have to be gluten-free, I try to make a batch with half the loaf every time I bake GF bread…it’s the only way I can get yummy croutons (not many GF choices that are store-bought taste good at all).

    Great use for all that extra bread 🙂

Leave a Reply

