Soup and Salad

Some people try to get the smell of food out of their house, whether it’s by using the exhaust fan above their stove or cracking a window.  I, on the other hand, love it when my house smells like food! (That means it doesn’t smell like an old apartment! :-))

We had some delicious chili and salad for lunch that made our house smell great for quite a while.  I didn’t follow a strict recipe for my chili (actually, no recipe at all), but it was so good I had to at least share the ingredients.

Beef Chili

– Ground beef

– Kidney beans

– Diced tomatoes

– brown sugar (quite a bit!)

– salt

– pepper

– chili powder (also quite a bit)

– mustard (just a tiny bit!)

– diced onion

– diced bell peppers

– diced jalapenos

– garlic (minced or granulated)

Directions: Brown the beef in a large pan with the onion and peppers.  Add all other ingredients and simmer for approximately 20 minutes, or until flavors are blended.  Use all seasonings to taste and top each bowl with shredded cheese to serve.

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Beef Entrees, Soups and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Soup and Salad

  1. Elizabeth E Pruett says:

    Amen on the old apartment remark. I love the smell of food!

Leave a Reply

