Kitchen Tip Tuesdays: Freezer Inventory (And Free Download!)

linked to Tammy’s Recipes

I finally took responsibility for my freezer today!

You know how freezers are.  They start out just fine, but soon you’re stuffing things into them and hoping the door stays closed, not able to find anything, and forgetting what you do and do not have.

Since I only have my refrigerator freezer, I have to be especially creative with how I use my space.  Today I finally made a list of everything I have in my freezer (and organized it).  Since I thought you might be interested in doing the same thing, I am going to let you download (for free) the Freezer Inventory Sheets I made.

I know these sheets are going to be a big help, so I have to no make myself use them.  If you know what you have in your freezer and how much, you can make much more informed buying and cooking decisions!

Is anyone willing to step up with me?

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Freebies, Kitchen Tip and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Kitchen Tip Tuesdays: Freezer Inventory (And Free Download!)

  1. What a great idea! I am going to do that today. Thank you so much for the download. 🙂

  2. shelconnors says:

    Awesome! Thanks for the share!! 🙂

  3. Rhetta says:

    Ah, thank you! With our ancient but useful chest freezer as well as a refrigerator freezer drawer, I am always losing track! Your inventory will be a great organizational tool, and now those little bits of chopped peppers and onions hopefully won’t get freezer burn before they go into the meatloaf! I was so excited, I printed two copies of your inventory sheets even before commenting. 🙂 Appreciate your generosity!

  4. Katie says:

    This is an incredibly clever idea! Thanks for the downloads!

  5. Great idea! It also might be nice to have a “date frozen” field, going forward. I know that I forget just HOW old that frozen sauce is in my freezer or WHEN I froze the ground beef…

  6. Naomi says:

    Okay, here’s my take on it. My inventory sheet has a tick mark for each item in the freezer. As I take out and use an item, I place another mark over the tick mark (looks kind of like an “X”). That has worked great for me! No doubt, we all need to keep an inventory sheet though. I couldn’t get by without it. In fact, (sheepishly) I have an entire upright freezer full of stuff that needs to be inventoried. I think you’ve inspired me to do something about it! Thanks!

  7. Your method sounds great, too!

    I think that no matter how you do it, as long as you do it, you’ll be fine. 🙂

    Thanks for commenting!!

  8. I overhauled my freezer about a year ago, and it’s been so worth it! I got clear plastic bins that help keep everything categorized (meat, fruit, bread, etc). I like the idea of an inventory sheet – that way nothing gets left in there too long. Nice job and thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

