Blueberry Monkey Bread

I really wish I could take credit for this recipe, but I can’t.  Here is where I “stole” it from!

Be warned: This recipe is SO sweet, but it’s really good!

Country Blueberry Monkey Bread
From mybakerlady, adapted from Paula Deen

3/4 cup packed light brown sugar
3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 (12-ounce) can buttermilk biscuits (I used Pillsbury Grands)
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, melted
1 cup quick-cooking rolled oats
2 cups fresh or frozen blueberries (I used frozen; just fine!)
1/2 cup sugar

Directions

Preheat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit.

Generously grease a 9-inch square baking dish. In a small bowl, combine brown sugar and cinnamon and mix well with a fork. Separate biscuit dough. Cut each biscuit into quarters, and dip each piece in melted butter and coat with brown sugar mixture. Arrange in a single layer in baking dish. Sprinkle with 1/2 cup of the oats.

Combine blueberries and sugar in a bowl and toss to coat. Spoon over oats and biscuits and sprinkle with remaining 1/2 cup oats. Drizzle remaining melted butter on top. Bake for 25-30 minutes or until cake is golden brown and center is done. Cool for 20 minutes. Serve warm.

(I used a round baking dish and it almost ran over!  This makes quite a bit!)

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Bread, Desserts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Blueberry Monkey Bread

  1. thecleverspender says:

    I think I gained a few pounds just reading this post!

  2. bakerlady says:

    Thanks for the trackback! And well done – looks gorgeous!

  3. Uhh yum. I love anything that involves oatmeal. Thanks for visiting my blog today, glad you liked it!

  4. Lois says:

    This looks really scrummy,but how would you describe buttermilk biscuits? I can’t think of an English equivalent!

  5. Healthy Glow Nutrition says:

    This made my mouth water. I saw it on my phone and I was like damn I want some…looks soooo yummy 🙂 A cup of coffee or tea and this = happy 😉

  6. Deirdre says:

    Looks delicious!!!

Leave a Reply

