Roasted Chicken and Veggies

I know I should have taken a picture of this dish before we attacked it and put it on our plates, but I was so ready to eat! 🙂

I tried roasting a whole chicken for the first time today!  I will be doing it again in the future, though, so I’m sure I’ll have plenty of photo opportunities.

I was a little nervous about roasting a whole chicken.  My husband has made it clear that he doesn’t want any chicken except boneless, skinless chicken breasts, and the thought of me digging into that chicken alone was a little sad.  However, I think I have cured my husband of his sole desire for boneless, skinless chicken!

I called my expert sister Tammy earlier today after we went shopping and bought this chicken.  I know she’s roasted a whole chicken lots of times very well.  I used some of her suggestions, and this is what I did:

Oven-Roasted Chicken

Since I don’t have a baking dish with a lid, I greased the bottom of a 9″ x 13″ baking dish and baked this chicken uncovered.  First, in the bottom of the dish I put chunks of:

– potatoes

– carrots

– onion

– garlic

Then I seasoned the chicken, front and back, with:

– salt

– pepper

– lemon juice

– paprika

– Vegeta (like seasoned salt)

– granulated garlic

I placed the chicken, breasts-up, in the middle of the dish.  I baked that thing at 375 degrees Fahrenheit for about 2 and a half hours.  However, the preparation time was surprisingly low!  I was timing myself because I had laundry in the washer – it only took about 20 minutes to prepare the chicken and all the vegetables!

My husband not only ate the skin from this chicken, but he liked it!  The skin on top was nice and crispy and so well seasoned that it was delicious.  This is a very affordable and fabulous dinner!

Although I have never baked a whole chicken before, I have handled them back in my “dark days” working at the Walmart deli. (Ok, not really that dark.) From this, I did learn to cut that pesky little tail and some extra fat down there off with a kitchen scissors!  Works like a charm.

As a bonus, I almost felt like Julia Child when I was flopping that bird around. 😉

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Chicken Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Roasted Chicken and Veggies

  1. I was intimidated the first time I did a whole chicken – but it isn’t too scary, and it really impresses people! Now I actually think of a roast chicken as an “easy” dish, I’ve made it so often!

    • I (now) know that it is SO easy, and is also a meal that will serve more than just my husband and me, yet not fill me entire kitchen with dirty dishes!

      YES. 🙂 Winning!

  2. I LOVE roast chicken! This looks like a winner chicken dinner!

  3. babso2you says:

    If you add parsley to the cavity the steam from the herb flavors the meat and adds moisture to the meat!

  4. thecleverspender says:

    What’s up with these guys? My husband informed me that he does not like chicken on the bone either. It took me years, and I kid you not – YEARS to be able to roast a whole chicken. I would buy them and get so grossed out with taking the bag out, that I’d throw the entire chicken away! Finally, I can do it (maybe all the time I spent watching surgery shows helped…) and now he can’t stand bone-in chicken. Of course, he seems to manage hot wings though. LOL!

    • Yeah, that’s funny about guys – super picky, but hot wings are still ok? 🙂 My husband doesn’t like chicken wings, though; I was pretty excited that he liked this chicken!
      I’m glad you have overcome your fear of the whole fresh chicken. 🙂

  5. Healthy Glow Nutrition says:

    Yes, guys are funny that way. My boyfriend told me not to make slow cooker chicken thighs with bones, as he doesn’t like to pick them out. I said uhm ok 🙂 Your dish looks delicious and i find it is more economical to buy the whole bird 🙂

  6. Pingback: Leftover Roasted Chicken = Shredded Chicken Sandwiches | Recipes Happen

  7. I haven’t roasted a chicken for soooo long. Must do one soon! 🙂

  8. tanyamhudson says:

    My husband is the opposite–if he never ate a boneless, skinless breast again, he’d be perfectly happy. And I love chicken on or off the bone. So, basically, this is our kind of recipe! Yum!

    (We especially love getting a whole bird because we can save the bones afterward to make chicken stock. 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

