Homemade Fresh Salsa

My generous older brother and sister-in-law let Bogdan and me pick as many tomatoes and peppers as we wanted from their garden! (Since they had a baby recently, I think they have had a few other things on their minds! ;))

We were very thrilled about this fresh produce, and one of the first things I made was salsa!

Fresh Salsa

(Please keep in mind that these measurements are approximate!)

3-4 cups diced tomatoes

2 teaspoons diced fresh cilantro

2 teaspoons diced green onion (or regular sweet onion)

granulated garlic (or 1 clove fresh garlic, minced)

1/2-3/4 teaspoon salt

1/2-3/4 teaspoon sugar

2 teaspoons lemon juice

1 jalapeno, minced (more or less, depending on how hot you like your salsa!)

When I made this, I let it sit on the counter all afternoon, and it was even better in the evening.

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Side Dishes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Homemade Fresh Salsa

  1. saramcgee says:

    I actually wanted to make fresh salsa this weekend- thanks for the recipe! I may dice the tomatoes even smaller, though, because for some reason I love ketchup/salsa/pasta sauce but don’t like raw tomatoes!

  2. Hi Bonnie! I love your blog! Just wanted to let you know I’ve included a link to Recipes Happen on the “Resources” page of my blog, http://daybydayorganization.wordpress.com. Have a wonderful weekend!

  3. babso2you says:

    Salsa left to sit for days in the refrigerator is the bomb! This looks pretty amazing!

  4. Healthy Glow Nutrition says:

    Looks yummy. Nothing better than picking your own tomatoes or veggies. πŸ˜‰

  5. Pingback: Salsa in California | Recipes Happen

  6. Pingback: Three-Day Menu | Recipes Happen

  7. Pingback: Beef, Black Bean, and Corn Tacos | Recipes Happen

Leave a Reply

