Wall Project!!

I guess I’ve been feeling crafty!

I have really wanted to make a wall-hanging for my living room.  I have picture frames, the Romanian flag, and a few other things up, but I wanted to make something.  This turned out so well; I can’t wait to try something else – maybe even bigger!

On my way home from work yesterday, I heard one of my favorite songs on the radio – The Proof of Your Love.  I decided to make my wall hanging with some of the lyrics from that song – actually 1 Corinthians 13:1-7, The Message version. (I don’t usually use that version, but I loved how it put these verses into different words.)

An overview – it’s really not crooked… that’s just my photography lack-o-skills. 😉

What I did for the backing was cover a piece of cardboard (9 inches wide, 24 inches tall) with black paper.

Another plus for this project is that I didn’t spend any money on it!  These were all supplies I already had!  Most were given to me.  To be fair, though, I estimate the cost of the supplies (if you were to go buy them all) would be less than $5.00.

Altogether, I used:

– old cardboard (actually, two pieces taped together – but you would never know it once it was firm because of the thick paper covering it.)

– Regular and double sided tape

– flower decorations

– 3 pieces of plain black scrapbook paper

– 1 piece of music note scrapbook paper

– 2 pieces of patterned scrapbook paper

– a teeny tiny bit of ink in my printer.

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wall Project!!

  1. Interesting and well-done. I used to make collages, wall hangings & cards out of paper, too. (and some really interesting napkins, if I wasn’t concerned about acid-free longevity). I haven’t the time these days–I had to make some choices to focus on other priorities, but I’m glad there was a season when I could enjoy my creativity in a visual medium, different from writing/cooking. It’s good to try one’s hand at many forms of expression, I think. I also think this would make a wonderful wedding or anniversary card, shrunk down and divided into front cover/inside stuff, of course.

Leave a Reply

