Kitchen Tip Tuesdays: Making Your Kitchen Smell Good

Once again, linked to Tammy’s Recipes.

This week’s kitchen tip is short, but it really helped me! 🙂

I don’t really buy into all the home fragrances you can get.  I have tried many of them, and they usually don’t work very well (in my opinion).  Also, many people have allergies to ingredients in the stronger air-fresheners, such as sprays and diffusers.

This solution is by no means unique to me, but I only began doing it recently and I hope it helps some of you!

Natural Kitchen Scent

In a small saucepan, combine about 2 cups of water with your choice of spices.  I use nutmeg, cinnamon, and cloves, but I know you can use others and/or essential oils as well.  Heat to boiling, then reduce to lowest temperature.

Using this method, it only takes about 15-20 minutes for my whole kitchen (actually, my whole small apartment!) to smell like apple cider.

Do any of you have natural good-smelling kitchen ideas?

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Kitchen Tip and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Kitchen Tip Tuesdays: Making Your Kitchen Smell Good

  1. thecleverspender says:

    My mom used to do this and I do this too! I usually just add cinnamon and sometimes oranges or apples if I have some old ones that I was going to throw away.

  2. I used to save up my orange peels in a bag in the fridge to simmer with spices – haven’t done it in a while though, thanks for the reminder.

  3. squirrel circus says:

    I love herb scented candles…a favorite is Yankee Candle’s “sage and citrus”.

  4. pettigrove76 says:

    My mother takes clippings from her rosemary bush and sets them around the house in water. It smells so fresh and isn’t overbearing at all. This really works for me since I am highly allergic to scented candles.

  5. csamom says:

    We run lemons and limes in the garbage disposal after using them in for the juice in recipes.

  6. Ive read about this…must try it…thanks!

  7. I usually put two tbsp of vanilla extract in 2 cups of water and bring to boil. It makes my house smell like I have been baking a cake!

Leave a Reply

