White Pizza Wedges

I really wasn’t sure what to call this recipe, because it’s similar to “Italian Bread Wedges” I’ve made in the past.  However, I couldn’t find that recipe, so I re-created a new recipe.  I wasn’t intending to blog about my supper last night, but it was soooo fabulous that I decided I had to.

First of all, you should know that this supper only took about an hour to make (including rising and baking time!).

Grilled Chicken + White Pizza Wedges=

Hopefully, you can see why I couldn’t resist snapping a picture.  The chicken recipe can be found here, as I have blogged about it in the past.

White Pizza Wedges

For crust:

3/4 cup warm water (approximately 110 degrees Fahrenheit)

1 teaspoon sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 tablespoons olive oil

approximately 2 cups flour (add more if necessary)

1 tablespoon yeast

For toppings:

Italian dressing

Italian seasoning

grated cheese (mozzarella would be great; I used yogurt cheese this time, and a little colby-jack)

tomato, chopped/sliced

Directions:

1. Mix the warm water, sugar, and yeast in a medium bowl and let set for 5 minutes.  Add the salt, oil, and flour an knead until smooth and elastic.  Grease the outside of the dough with olive oil.

2. Let set in a warm place until double. (I heat my oven until it’s just warm and set the bowl in there, uncovered.  To keep it moist, set a cup of boiling water on the rack next to it.)  If you do let your dough rise in the oven, this process should only take about 25 minutes, enough time for you to grate the cheese and prepare the tomato for the topping, or – in my case – maybe even take a shower! 🙂

3. Punch down the dough and divide it in half.  Roll it out (it will be pretty thin) so that each piece covers a 12-inch pizza pan.

4. On each unbaked crust, spread Italian dressing about as much as you would normally use if it were pizza sauce.  Sprinkle the top with Italian seasoning.  Cover with cheese, and top with chopped tomato.

5. Bake at 400 degrees Fahrenheit for about 10 minutes, or until cheese is just starting to brown.

6. When pizza is out, cut immediately with a pizza cutter and serve.

My parents gave me some fresh tomatoes.  I think I had forgotten the taste of homegrown tomatoes!!

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Bread, Homemade Pizza and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to White Pizza Wedges

  1. thecleverspender says:

    Did you use creamy Italian dressing? This looks so good!

  2. Healthy Glow Nutrition says:

    Looks so good 🙂

      • Healthy Glow Nutrition says:

        🙂

      • Healthy Glow Nutrition says:

        This is so off topic but I have no idea how to post my new recipe. When I add a picture I cannot seem to get past the picture to keep writing. It is the weirdest thing. I see everyone’s posts have pictures followed by text followed by pictures etc. If you know why please let me know. Thanks very much 🙂

      • Oh, interesting!
        My text is just really easy to add after the pictures I insert… so I’m not sure of your problem! I looked at your blog to see if it might be an issue with your layout, but I don’t think it is.
        Do you think it would work if you wrote all your text first, leaving spaces (empty lines) where you wanted pictures? Then click in those spaces and add pictures?
        Just a thought. Not quite sure what the issue is. 🙂

      • Healthy Glow Nutrition says:

        You are super!!! Thank you so much 🙂 I am “usually” pretty savvy with my computer BUT this WordPress thing has got me in a spin. I’ll definitely try your idea I am sure it will work. Thanks VERY much, once again 🙂

  3. nicademus83 says:

    Reblogged this on Health.Fun.Energy and commented:
    This goes perfect with Global Grains week and it looks fantastic. Thanks Bonnie (One of our loyal followers)!!

  4. petit4chocolatier says:

    Looks delicious!

  5. Pingback: White Pizza is My New Love | Recipes Happen

  6. thecleverspender says:

    This is for Healthy Glow Nutrition about having trouble adding pictures in posts – I was having trouble too. Then I discovered if I start a post, save it, and go back to the draft I click “insert photo” and it works. I am still trying to figure out how to add links to my posts. I can’t figure out how to make it so if I refer to one of my previous posts, that you can click on the highlighted words and it goes to that post. I also read so many great blogs and want to refer to them in my posts but am not sure how to go about linking to them in an actual post! I was able to set up my blogroll atleast! LOL!

  7. Pingback: Kitchen Tip Tuesdays: Indoor Grills | Recipes Happen

  8. Pingback: Saturday Upsides: Work that pays off | Recipes Happen

  9. Pingback: Saturday Upsides: Can there be an Upside to Losing Weight? | Recipes Happen

Leave a Reply

