The Breakfast Disaster: My Peach Pancakes

Don’t let that picture fool you.  This breakfast of “peach pancakes,” definitely wasn’t a stellar moment in my life.

So, here’s how the story goes.

Beginning:

I got up this morning feeling productive.  Also, I was not quite sure what I was going to blog about today, and for someone who loves blogging that’s quite a dilemma.  Many thoughts were going through my mind, such as

“Oh no!  If I don’t blog today I’ll lose all my readers!” and

“I have to make sure everyone knows what an awesome cook I am and that I never take days off!” (hahahahaha!)

So, I decided to do a little searching online for good breakfast ideas.  I found this recipe for peach pancakes, and my heart did a flip.

“What a perfect use for some of my awesome fresh peaches,” I thought excitedly.

Bad Choices

I must admit at this point in the story that I didn’t have all the ingredients for this recipe.  I’m still not sure what “donut peaches” are, but I decided regular peaches couldn’t be much different.  Also, not quite sure what “dark honey” is, I used whatever my honey is that I have in the cupboard.  Also, almond milk?  Regular milk for me, please.  And last but not least, although I have wheat flour, I have never heard of almond flour.  I used regular flour for that part.

Those may have been some pretty ill choices, because I am not quite sure what I got would make anyone blog about this recipe in a positive light.

End Result

Although the picture at the top really is from the same waffles today, I thought I should share a much more accurate representation of what these waffles looked like.  They were also really gooey. (Not my favorite pancake texture!)

The Ending

If this story wasn’t good enough, you should also know that while my last pancake was frying I decided to do laundry.  Of course, I didn’t realize I was still frying a pancake, or I wouldn’t have decided to do laundry quite yet!  My laundry room for my apartment complex is a little too far away for comfort, so by the time Bogdan and I had lugged our laundry all the way down there (and sent Bogdan back, of course, to get the towels I had forgotten) and come back, the house had a new aroma: Burned pancake.

THE END.

PS: I’m not trying to say that this recipe is bad.  If you follow the recipe, it’s probably good, but I’m afraid to try it again.

Oh, also!  Don’t forget to enter my current giveaway!!

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Breakfasts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Breakfast Disaster: My Peach Pancakes

  1. Hi Bonnie! Sorry that you had trouble with the recipe – substituting regular peaches shouldn’t make a difference, and dark honey is just a little deeper in flavor than regular (and that was the sugar substitute in the recipe). I haven’t tried this recipe with all regular flour so I don’t know if that can account for the texture, but I think that is probably it – the almond flour (or almond meal) is basically blanched, finely milled almonds so they provide a lot ‘fuller’ flavor and fluffy texture and really hold these together. I think excluding that would likely make a big difference to both the taste and texture of these pancakes.

    This is definitely a new way to read about someone trying out a recipe :), but I am glad you did and I hope you’ll try again.

    • Thanks for the input!! 🙂
      Even thought they totally didn’t turn out for me (Lol!), I have no doubt that it’s a good recipe. I’ll have to get that kind of flour sometime. 🙂

  2. ps. The donut peaches (they look like smaller, flat peaches, hence the name) are quite a lot smaller than regular peaches though, just fyi.

  3. babso2you says:

    When I make peach pancakes, I use a plain pancake batter recipe and add chopped peaches. I have not done this in a while, and certainly think it is time before peach season is over!

  4. Every now and then we have an experiment go awry in the kitchen. I swear, half of mine could have been an episode of I Love Lucy.

  5. Though I’m sure it felt like a disaster, it turned into a very entertaining story, for what it’s worth!

  6. Elizabeth E Pruett says:

    Oops. 🙂

  7. Pingback: Recipes that didn’t Happen: Pizza Biscuits | Recipes Happen

  8. findingelina says:

    Regardless of the not so successful attempt, they sound delicious! I think I’ll add peaches to my pancakes next time 🙂

Leave a Reply

