Kitchen Tip Tuesdays: Tips for Eating Healthfully at Work

Growing up, I was taught to pack my lunch.  Whether it was for school, for work, or a long car ride, we packed our food.  I have heard, and still hear, many people say that you can buy your lunch at work or at a fast food place just as cheaply as you can pack it, but I have simply not found that to be true.

So how do I pack a cheap-yet-healthful lunch?

1. When I put away leftovers, I put some into a lunch-size container.  It’s easiest to pack healthful main dishes if they’re already prepared! (More healthful than a microwave meal from work?  For sure!)

2. Don’t be afraid to buy the large containers of yogurt or cottage cheese (flavored or plain) and put them in smaller containers for work yourself!  This is cheaper than buying the individual containers, and takes about 1 minute of your time at home for each lunch.

3. Pack a healthful drink.  I like to take a bottle of water or juice that I filled at home, and I am not tempted to buy soda at work or spend $1 on one bottle of juice. (Another way to save on juice is buy buying frozen concentrate instead of the jugs that are already prepared.)

Carrots with Herbvocado Sauce on them

4. Pack your fruits and veggies!  As I have mentioned before, it’s always best to prepare your vegetables ahead of time.  When it comes time to pack your lunch, you probably don’t feel like peeling carrots, scrubbing celery, or chopping lettuce!  It can be easy to grab for a bag of chips or an extra candy bar to fill you up instead.  When you buy a bag of carrots or a package of lettuce, prepare it for lunches right away.  Also, I take only a small amount of salad dressing with me to work, and make it stretch over my entire salad.  This cuts calories easily, as well!

5. If you leave for work early in the morning, pack your lunch the night before.  It’s that simple. 🙂

My tuna salad sandwiches

6. Pack enough food.  It’s better to bring some food home at the end of the night than to go searching for something in a vending machine or from a deli counter to satisfy your hunger.

7. If you have a locker at work and sometimes work later than you expected, keep some food in your locker for “emergencies.” Although this food may not necessarily be as healthful as your fruits and vegetables, even having a large package of granola bars (cheaper than individual!) or crackers you got on sale will keep you from spending extra and unexpected money at work.  Also good ideas for this stash are nuts and trail mixes.

8. Pack free samples!  When I get a free sample of a snack food (example: granola bars, cereal, candy, etc.) I like to pack it in my lunch as a “treat” and something easy to pack, instead of just eating it at home.  Although, none of those samples last very well at my home now, being married to a chocolate lover. 😉

Don’t forget to head over to Tammy’s Recipes to check out the other Kitchen Tips this Tuesday!

and…

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Kitchen Tip and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Kitchen Tip Tuesdays: Tips for Eating Healthfully at Work

  1. Jaclynn says:

    I take all my free samples of food type items to work too 🙂 or what I get really cheap with coupons. And yes, it is true, you save a lot of money that way, packing your lunch.

  2. I have never considered trying #2, but now that you said it, it makes perfect sense. Too many times I find myself throwing out a huge container of cottage cheese or the like because it’s at the back of my fridge and I forget about it. Thanks for the tip!

    • You’re welcome!
      I think that buying large containers of yogurt and cottage cheese (or the like) does require some diligence… unfortunately, it’s all too easy to reach for the “easiest” things in the fridge.

  3. I pack Zachary’s lunch every day, but, until recently, I had fallen into the old peanut butter and jelly rut. Lately, I am trying to pack things with more variety that are healthier. Egg salad, tuna salad, and leftovers are the big ones right now, but I would like to be even more creative. The key for me is to definitely do it the night before. I have found that having carrots, celery, etc. already cleaned, cut, and bagged makes a BIG difference when it comes to packing healthy snacks.

    • Totally agree with everything you said!
      I kind of forgot when I posted this that not everyone has the luxury of having a microwave at work, but almost everyone can pack fruits and veggies and creative sandwiches at least! 🙂
      Thanks for commenting!

  4. thecleverspender says:

    All good ideas! I find that if I don’t cut up & wash the fruits & veggies right when I get home from the store, I am usually too lazy to do it later. They end up spoiling and I throw them away.

  5. Pingback: Kitchen Tip Tuesdays: Prep Ahead! | Recipes Happen

  6. jenmatteson says:

    Love all your tips and I already live by them! Packing leftovers for lunch while cleaning up dinner is so simple! My husby would prob never bring lunch if I didn’t make sure there were leftovers of everything I make. A MUST is several storable containers for dressings, yogurt, salads, sandwiches and the like. It makes packing your lunch fuss free!

Leave a Reply

