Shrimp Scampi

I bought frozen shrimp for the first time recently!

Growing up, I always really loved shrimp.  However, it was (and still is!) a rare occasion when we had it.  I have really been in a seafood mood lately, and so have bought some recently at reasonable prices.

I made shrimp scampi!  I had seen several recipes for shrimp scampi, and I didn’t really have all the necessary ingredients for any of them, so I made my own recipe.  It was delicious!

Shrimp Scampi

8 ounces (dry weight) rotini pasta

12 ounces cooked shrimp (I used frozen medium shrimp, peeled and deveined, with tails)

1 to 1 1/2 cup/s sliced mushrooms*

Juice from 1/2 lemon

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 tablespoon butter

salt and pepper, to taste

approximately 2 teaspoons chopped dried oregano

approximately 2 teaspoons chopped dried parsley (I’m sure fresh would be fine if you have it!)

3 cloves garlic, chopped

1/2 onion, chopped

1/2 cup Lite Italian Dressing

Directions:

1. Cook pasta according to package directions and drain.

2. While pasta is cooking, combine all other ingredients in an extra large skillet.  Cook until mushrooms and onions are tender.  Add hot pasta and season with salt and pepper to taste.  Add water, if mixture has dried while cooking.

Yes, this is really easy!!

*This is an example of me using my mushrooms I froze when they were on sale!  You can’t even tell they were frozen!  A lot of recipes I saw called for chopped red bell pepper.  I thought that looked really good in place of the mushrooms, too, but I didn’t have any.

Remember!

Go like Recipes Happen on Facebook and follow on twitter for more updates on food, freebies, and coupons!

Linked up to:

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, seafood and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Shrimp Scampi

  1. vivalitafood says:

    looks delicious and so simple 🙂 I’ll be sure to follow the blog! check out my blog http://vivalitafood.wordpress.com/ for other simple recipes 🙂

  2. offbeatcorp says:

    did you do anything to the mushrooms before freezing them? I’m curious about this! I was thinking about drying a bunch I found on sale. The Scampi looks great!

Leave a Reply

