The Embarassing Shelves: I fixed them!

I do not have very many kitchen cupboards, and the ones I do have are very small.ย  Thankfully, I have some shelves off to the side of my kitchen.

However, not only are they VERY open to the eyes of any guests, but they’re also really easy to let get horribly messy… especially since I feel like I don’t have enough room for anything in my house.

I organized those shelves today.

I can’t believe I’m posting these pictures.

Before:

After!

It feels so good to finally have it organized!

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Our Home, Pictures, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to The Embarassing Shelves: I fixed them!

  1. you could hang a sheet or curtains to cover the shelves. Even a decorative clear shower curtain might be cute.

  2. Awesome that you organized your shelves! It is such a good feeling to know where everything is. Great job! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. petit4chocolatier says:

    I believe everyone can relate to this post! It is such a feat to organize the shelves, closets, etc., etc., etc. You did a wonderful job!

  4. squirrel circus says:

    Nice work!

  5. Christine says:

    What an inspiration you are Bonnie. I must get in and organize my pantry. Luckily I have a door to hide it all from view. I tend to lose stuff in it. When I have a closer look I find multiples of the same product, usually out of date. Well done.

  6. Good job! I find kitchen organization to be the hardest of all. So many different sizes of things. I’m always struggling to make things fit and look halfway decent.

  7. Helen Boyd says:

    Very brave of you, but it is a lovely feeling to be organised again…:)

  8. Christine Underation says:

    Bonnie, in two weeks I want to see the AFTER After pics. Keeping it organized is always hardest for me!

  9. pondblog says:

    Nice job! I’m overdue for a kitchen cabinet cleaning and reorganization, and I’m dreading it. One thing that helps me deal with all the little packets of spices or half empty bags of flour and dried beans is to collect similar items in large clear or opaque rubbermaid/tupperware kind of containers. It keeps them the bits and pieces together, and allows me to see what is inside the box.

  10. babso2you says:

    I re-organize the kitchen cupboards when my husband goes out of town. He tosses everything in not thinking that there is a place for everything…Will be doing this again shortly! Love the before and after photos!

  11. seasonedwithsarcasm says:

    Try small jam sized mason jars for spices – pint if necessary! It looks pretty and is easy to get out what you need ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. overtimecook says:

    Oh man, that is totally impressive. Can I hire you? ๐Ÿ˜‰ I need to organize all my baking stuff and photography props so badly!

  13. lambyknits01 says:

    I have to organize my pantries fairly often! I guess it would help if I put everything back where it was in the first place ๐Ÿ˜‰ Great work!

  14. becky says:

    You might want to look into using canning jars for your bulk items and other things that come in slippery bags. They are cheap, tend to look good no matter what, and come in lots of sizes but if you stick with all widemouthed they will stack nicely for you. They also hold up to a lot of abuse- my children use the half pints as cups and they’ve held up to everything they can dish out. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • That’s a good idea; I was actually thinking about that but was too lazy to (yet) do that.
      Also, I have some vacuum sealer that apparently works great with wide-mouth canning jars with new lids! So I might just have to beg my mom for some. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  15. Elizabeth E Pruett says:

    Good work! It is brave to post the pictures, but it just makes you look extra awesome! ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. Nice work! I totally need a pantry make over!

Leave a Reply

