Honey Banana Muffins (Trial and Error)

I made a new recipe for banana muffins today.  I have always been partial to an old family favorite, but this recipe looked so delicious!

Well.

It was delicious, but I did a few things wrong that I believe kept this recipe from it’s full potential.

I’m not going to post the recipe myself, but you need to click here to view that recipe.  I’m just going to tell you what I did wrong.

Mistakes

1. The recipe called for Splenda.  I don’t use Splenda.  I figured I’d just substitute sugar and it’d be the same.  I am still not sure just how Splenda and sugar compare in sweetness, but 1 cup of sugar was way to much (in my opinion!) for this recipe.

FIX: I think 1/2 cup sugar would work just fine for this recipe.

2. The recipe called for 4 medium bananas.  I had 5 small (in my opinion!) bananas that needed to be used.  I always think “the more bananas the better” in my other banana muffin recipe, so I figured 5 bananas should be just fine for this recipe.  I wasn’t really taking into account that there is also applesauce in this recipe and that adding an extra banana might be over-the-top moist. (It also made it sweeter!)

FIX: Follow the recipe!

3. Somehow I didn’t realize in the recipe that you baked the muffins for 10 minutes before you added the sugar, honey, and cinnamon topping.  I added that before baking.

FIX: Read the directions more carefully!

Nonetheless, these muffins were good, albeit really sweet and overly moist.  They were good with a nice glass of milk.  If you follow the recipe, you should be just fine. 🙂

Still steaming

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Bread, Breakfasts, Desserts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Honey Banana Muffins (Trial and Error)

  1. Jorie says:

    Bonnie, these sound DELICIOUS. And I don’t find anything wrong with an overly moist muffin! 🙂

  2. Conor Bofin says:

    Overly moist and overly sweet sounds just fine to me. I do love when bloggers post about the fails too. We learn from our mistakes. They will be even tastier the next time.
    Best,
    Conor

  3. aguiltlessglutton says:

    Thanks so much for sharing this recipe! I’m glad it worked out for you, despite the small “errors”. Have an awesome day!

  4. thecleverspender says:

    I tried baking with Splenda once and it was terrible!! I’m all for real sugar – I just use a little bit less of it. I love turbinado sugar and use that instead of white sugar most of the time. I don’t know if it’s any healthier, but it tastes good!

  5. thecleverspender says:

    Actually, now that I think of it, it was not Splenda that I used – it was Steevia. Not sure if there is much of a difference between the two when it comes to baking though.

Leave a Reply

