Baked Salmon and Wild Rice

I’ve been looking forward to making the salmon I bought at Aldi.  We usually don’t get salmon because it’s not as cheap as, well, chicken. 🙂 I am so glad we bought some as a “treat,” though!

Since I’ve never actually made salmon before (isn’t that a shame??), I decided to try a recipe from my sister Tammy’s website that I knew was reliable.  I definitely didn’t want to experiment on my precious salmon. 🙂 I followed her recipe almost 100% – I just didn’t have lemon pepper and did the directions only slightly differently.

As you can see, this turned out just perfectly!  I decided to pair the salmon with something perfect with any fish – wild rice!  We were so satisfied with this meal!

Although I suggest you look at her recipe as well, here’s how I made it!

Baked Salmon

– Salmon fillets (I used four)

– Fresh-squeezed lemon juice (I used the juice from 1/2 a lemon)

– Liquid smoke

– pepper

– salt

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees Fahrenheit.  Line a cookie sheet with foil, and place a metal cooling wrack/wire rack on top of the foil.

2. On a plate, liberally season both sides of each fillet with the lemon juice, liquid smoke, pepper, and salt.  Although Tammy mentioned that she uses a spray bottle for her liquid smoke, it worked fine for me to just pour it onto my fingers and apply.

3. Place each fillet (skin-side down, if applicable) onto wire rack, and bake for 15-20 minutes.

I tried to demonstrate that it was flaky.

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in seafood and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Baked Salmon and Wild Rice

  1. babso2you says:

    Bonnie – This looks really good! You might want to try the recipe for salmon on my site. It was my Dad’s and very yummy!

  2. ericraines says:

    I love salmon (and fits perfectly with my recent theme of healthier eating), thanks for sharing this!

  3. Christine says:

    I’ve never used liquid smoke!

  4. I love Salmon but sometimes you do have to wait until it’s on sale since it can be a bit expensive. What is Liquid smoke? Does it give the food a smoky flavor?

  5. foodlattio says:

    That salmon looks so good! Yea I agree it could be a bit on the expensive side but it’s totally worth it

  6. Katie says:

    I make salmon pretty often (it’s my man’s favorite) but I’ve never made it with liquid smoke. This sounds wonderful!

  7. Pingback: Menu Update + Another Menu | Recipes Happen

Leave a Reply

