Homemade Sweet and Sour Sauce

I did it!  I made sweet and sour sauce!

I must preface this by saying that this doesn’t quite taste like what you get out of a jar or eat at a Chinese restaurant.  It’s very good, but also different.  It also isn’t fake-bright-red.  It’s more reddish-brown.  It is very, very easy to make!

Sweet and Sour Sauce

1/3 cup white sugar

2 and 1/2 tablespoons white vinegar

1/3 cup water

2 tablespoons soy sauce

1/2 tablespoon ketchup

1 tablespoon cornstarch

Directions:

1. In a small saucepan, combine cornstarch and sugar.  Add all other ingredients and heat on medium-low setting, stirring constantly, until thickened.

I used up the rest of my won ton wrappers to make some more crab rangoons!  I just made them in simple rolled shapes today, because that was Bogdan’s favorite anyway and they’re super easy that way.

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in sauces and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Homemade Sweet and Sour Sauce

  1. Looks delicious! This sweet & sour sauce recipe is very similar to my current go-to recipe, adapted from AllRecipes.com. Initially the “off” color is a bit off-putting; we Americans and our Americanized ideas of how “Chinese” food should be.

    Do you have a deep fryer? If yes, I’d be interested in your recommendation, if any. My small Presto Fry Baby recently gave up the ghost and I still have a dozen homemade egg rolls in the freezer. 😉

    • No, I do not have a deep fryer, but my husband has been itching to get one!
      Back home, my mom had a Presto Fry Daddy, and I like that a lot! But it was small-ish, so that might make a difference depending on how many you’re feeding. 🙂
      The only reason I’ve been somewhat leery about getting a fryer is the small amount of kitchen space I have!
      This is what my mom has, only hers has a metal utensil: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00005KB37
      I might like to try one (eventually) with a basket.

      Thanks for the comment!

    • Kittay Khaos says:

      We use the Presto Grand-Pappy. It’s the larger size version of the fry daddy. It can cook up to 6 cups of food at a time. A convenient size for a family of 7.

  2. bethevenson says:

    Thanks, I will be using this recipe! I have made something like this before but it had a bit of crushed pineapple.

  3. Looks like a great recipe — I prefer my food in colors that appear in nature, so this would definitely be an improvement over the carryout sauce! BTW, I just nominated you for a blogging award – check it out here…http://squirrelcircus.wordpress.com/2012/08/07/liebster-love/

  4. lambyknits01 says:

    I have been looking for a sweet and sour sauce – thanks for sharing! This looks much better than the hot pink stuff our local Chinese food take-out restaurant uses 😉

  5. Healthy Glow Nutrition says:

    Great recipe! I need to make this for my daughter as she always buys the store bought crap full of you know what…:)

  6. heidihawyes says:

    I am going to try this for dinner tonight! Cant wait! It look so simple! Yum!

  7. BOYEATSWORLD says:

    Yum. I love the colour. Looks healthy and natural. Might whip this up for the kids.

  8. tenaya says:

    I made this using tamari it is gluten free and has less sodium, also I used a can of pineapple juice and all!! I used half white sugar and half brown sugar because the brown sugar really cuts the acidity!! Let me tell you what this is amazing!! 🙂 thank you!!

  9. misobonnie says:

    very nice! Looks really authentic, and definitely better with the typical red food colouring that restaurants like to add! Well done! And thanks for following my blog too! Bonnie. x

  10. This is a great recipe I changed the white sugar for brown and it really is good thanks !!! 🙂

  11. Liora says:

    Tried it today on my stir-fry. It was delicious!

  12. This looks awesome! I’ve looked at several sweet and sour recipes, but yours looks the best. I’m grateful for the comments section as well. I’m going to try the brown sugar.

Leave a Reply

