Crab Soup

I still have more of my package of imitation crab meat left from my fabulous crab rangoons.  I decided to make some crab soup.

Confession: I had never made anything at all with crab before today and I really had no idea how to make crab soup, but I think it worked pretty well!

I almost-sort-of-in-a-way followed a recipe I found online, except that I didn’t have most of the ingredients – including potatoes! – and almost substituted everything for something else.

Crab Soup

8 ounces crab meat (I used imitation), chopped/flaked

2-3 stalks celery, including leaves

2-3 cloves garlic, sliced or chopped

1 medium onion, chopped

1 cup chicken broth

1 can corn, drained

1/3 cup butter

1/2 cup flour

5-6 medium mushrooms, sliced*

2-3 cups milk

salt and pepper, to taste

additional chicken flavoring, if desired

Directions:

1. Melt butter in a medium-large pot and stir in garlic, onions, mushrooms, and celery.  Cook until vegetables are tender.  If necessary, add water.

demonstrating how my chopping mats bend

As you can see, I’ve been using my epic green stove a lot lately. 😉

2. When vegetables are done, whisk in chicken broth followed by milk, corn, and crab meat.  Add salt and pepper to taste.  Heat until almost boiling and enjoy!

*In my pictures you will notice that my mushrooms are not fully cooked even when all the other ingredients are added.  I didn’t decided to add the mushrooms until last, but I know it would be a lot better to make this by cooking the mushrooms with the other vegetables.

My husband really liked this soup, and he doesn’t like celery and seemed a little nervous when I told him this was what I was making for supper.  So you can give it a shot, too!

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Soups and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Crab Soup

  1. Laura Mattingly says:

    Bonnie, its amazing that you are posting all these crab recipes cause i was at my inlaws for the weekend in md on the water and we had crabs and i am going home with crab meat so you have given me some ideas of what to do with it 🙂

    • That’s awesome, Laura! 🙂
      I hope you try my ideas!! If you do, share a picture on facebook. 🙂 Or at least let me know if anything turns out!
      Yum! You’ve got the real stuff. 🙂

Leave a Reply

