Herbvocado Sauce (My take!)

I saw this recipe and was so eager to try it!  I don’t take any credit for the creation of this recipe, but I want to share my “spin” on it!  Make sure you look at the original!

First of all, let me tell you that you shouldn’t expect this recipe to be like guacamole or ranch dip.  It has resemblances to each but isn’t the same.  Don’t pre-judge it to be something it’s not.

Herbvocado Sauce (how I did it)

6 ounces nonfat Greek yogurt (I used Dannon Oikos)

1 avocado, cubed and scooped out of peel

1 clove garlic, minced

1 tablespoon mayonaise

1 tablespoon lemon juice

herbs, to taste

(I used a variety of fresh and dried herbs that I had on hand.  I used about a tablespoon of fresh parsley, as well as some dried dill weed and basil.  The original recipe calls for mint, oregano, and parsley.)

salt and black pepper, to taste

Directions:

1. Blend all ingredients in a food processor or blender until smooth.

2. Admire the beautiful green color and take some pictures. 🙂

Avocados are so pretty!

We liked this both on vegetables and on bread.

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Side Dishes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Herbvocado Sauce (My take!)

  1. Jaclynn says:

    Looks yummy and nutritious!

  2. I am so going to do make this, thanks for the dip inspiration!x

  3. Can’t go wrong with avocados! Thanks for the recipe 🙂

  4. thecleverspender says:

    I love avocados! I will put this on my list of things to try.

  5. Ooo, this looks really yummy! And you could make it vegan too with vegan mayo and non-dairy yogurt ! Thanks for checking out my blog!

  6. great blog. thanks for your like!

  7. Elizabeth says:

    Yum! This looks like an curried avocado + yogurt soup I made for lunch today! Will have to try in spread form. Btw, thanks for the comment and follow (my first!). 🙂

  8. jobeaudoin says:

    This recipe looks fantastic! I can’t wait to try it out. It looks easy enough but still packed with flavors!

  9. Pingback: Kitchen Tip Tuesdays: Tips for Eating Healthfully at Work | Recipes Happen

  10. TJ says:

    I have avocados down stairs. Guess I know what I am snacking on this afternoon.

  11. TJ says:

    I have been waiting a couple days just to try this one. I made it this afternoon. It was excellent. I also added a tsp. of Bon Apetite (McCormick). Ate it with celery, carrots, put some on left over biscuits from last night. All Wonderful. Thanks for the recipe!

  12. Lisa says:

    Wow! This looks & sounds wonderful!! I bet you can vary the herbs in all kind of ways. I always have FAGE (my favorite Greek yogurt), but I will be looking for avocados when i get paid.

Leave a Reply

