French Toast

Until this week, I hadn’t eaten French toast for years!  I remember making it as a kid.  It’s a really easy way for someone very young to make themselves a hot breakfast with [probably not] burning the house down!  Even for adults, this is a simple and quick hot breakfast.

French toast with maple syrup

I have to make my french toast differently for me and my husband, because he doesn’t like his with syrup and cinnamon.  Instead, he likes salted French toast with no syrup. (Does anyone else like their French toast like that?  I’m curious!)

Here’s how I make my French Toast.

You need:

– Egg

– Bread (preferably one that’s not really soft, because it might get soggy)

– Cinnamon (or salt and pepper, if you prefer salted French toast!)

– Syrup (if you’re like me)

Directions:

1. Stir together the egg and cinnamon (or salt/pepper).  For me, one large egg will be good for about 3 pieces of relatively small bread.

egg & cinnamon

2. With a fork, dip each side of slices of bread into the egg mixture and place in hot skillet or on hot griddle. (I don’t have a griddle, but that’s what I used growing up.)

3. Fry on either side and enjoy!

I love my maple syrup from Amish country!

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Bread, Breakfasts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to French Toast

  1. thecleverspender says:

    Looks good! I have never tried salted french toast. I like to add vanilla to the egg as well as cinnamon.

    • Good idea! 🙂
      My husband is Romanian – I wonder if that has something to do with his preferences? Either way, it’s really simple to make it two different ways. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by today!

  2. I like using cinnamon and a bit of nutmeg. For the topping, maple syrup is fine (never that store pancake syrup stuff) but I also like honey, jelly, or powdered sugar.

  3. Beth says:

    Usually my family would add milk to the egg mixture…not much-but enough to make it stretch farther and make more French toast 🙂

Leave a Reply

