Kitchen Tip Tuesdays: Freezing Mushrooms

This post is linked up to Tammy’s Recipes

Today I thought I’d share yet another way I am making the most of the mushrooms on sale at Aldi for $0.59/8-ounce package.

Since my husband and I both love mushrooms in everything and these fresh mushrooms are cheaper than canned, I borrowed a tip from my mom about preserving mushrooms quickly and easily!

First, I washed and either sliced or halved/quartered (depending on size) my mushrooms.Β  Then I then froze them in Ziploc bags.Β  There’s no cooking necessary!Β  These frozen mushrooms will be all ready to put into soups, use with eggs, put on pizza, or anything else.

It’s a great way to save money on mushrooms by making the sale last longer than one week!

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Kitchen Tip and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Kitchen Tip Tuesdays: Freezing Mushrooms

    • Thanks for this! I haven’t thought about freezing mushrooms. My husband and I eat lots love mushrooms as well, we buy some every week! What a great tip to make a sale last longer πŸ™‚

  1. Hi! I’ve nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award! If you accept and want to participate, click here for the rules! http://normalcooking.wordpress.com/2012/07/31/my-first-award/

  2. Teresa says:

    I’ve never thought about freezing mushrooms before. What a great idea. Thanks for sharing.

  3. treefranklyn says:

    AW! I JUST threw away a bag of assorted mushrooms I bought at the Farmer’s Market last weekend. They weren’t bad yet but I knew they were heading in that direction and would be by the time I could get to making something with them. So as I cleaned out my fridge a few days ago, I decided to toss them and take the loss. Didn’t know shrooms were freezable! Thanks for the post, I’ll remember that next time! πŸ™‚

  4. I had no idea you could freeze them either. Most sites say you can’t .. i will have to do this now. Thanks.

    • You totally can! That’s really strange that anyone would say you couldn’t! When I use them in a hot dish, I can’t tell AT ALL that they have been frozen! πŸ™‚

      PLUS, it’s like zero prep time to freeze them! πŸ™‚

  5. Pingback: Bacon-Mushroom Fettuccine | Recipes Happen

  6. Pingback: Johnsonville Italian Sausage Fettuccine | Recipes Happen

Leave a Reply

