Banana Bread

I had three pitiful bananas on my table this morning.  They were black and limp and I decided it was time to do something with them. (As we all know, black bananas are the best for banana bread!)

my recipe is from this post

Banana Bread

Ingredients:

3 or 4 ripe bananas, chopped or smashed

1/3 cup melted butter

1/2 cup sugar (I reduced this from 1 cup to 1/2 cup)

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 teaspoon baking soda

Pinch of salt

1 1/2 cups of all-purpose flour

Directions:

1. Heat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. (When I made this recipe I waited to turn the oven on until the end because I didn’t know how long the recipe would take to prepare.  It was so quick to prepare that I suggest turning on the oven NOW.)

I half chopped-half smashed my bananas really easily with a wooden utensil in my batter bowl.

2. Mix butter with banana.  Add sugar, egg, and vanilla.  Sprinkle baking soda and salt over batter and mix in.  Add flour; mix.

3. Pour into a greased loaf pan. (I used olive oil; butter would also be fine.)

I love my blue glass Pyrex dish!

4. Bake for 1 hour.  Remove from pan; cool on wire rack.

Fantastic!!!

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Bread and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Banana Bread

  1. Amelieeg says:

    Your banana bread looks amazing, I need to make one right away 🙂
    Thanks for following me by the way!

  2. aawenzel says:

    I just checked out some of your recipes and they all look delicious!! Also, I read your post about dieting and I am right there with you- dieting is so hard!!

  3. LOVE banana bread! Recipe looks delicious. Must give it a try. Thanks for sharing! Love the blog!

  4. gayle wu wei says:

    I was never a big fan of banana bread. Then last week I had 3 overripe bananas staring me in the face; all the other times this has happened I threw them away, unhappy since I was wasting food. So this time I decided to try banana bread again, but came up with a “Bananas Foster” variation as I always loved that dessert. I decided that the flavor profile needs a bit of work, but more than that, the bread came out a bit dry (though wrapping it in plastic seemed to help).

    Your bread looks very moist right out of the pan, though the recipe looks very similar to the one I adapted (from Smitten Kitchen I think). I thought next time that I might use canola oil instead of butter. But I was also wondering if the size of the bananas or amount makes a big difference (affecting the ratio of flour to moist ingredients). Did you use medium sized bananas or have some idea as to how much mashed bananas you ended up with?

    P.S. Thanks for stopping by my blog too.

  5. Healthy Glow Nutrition says:

    I need to try this. I will try it with gluten free flour. 🙂

    • Good idea! Actually, a friend of mine told me (via facebook, not commented on here) that she tried it with a gluten free flour mix and that it was really good!
      So it should work out! 🙂
      Thanks for following me on Twitter!

      • Healthy Glow Nutrition says:

        No problem 🙂 My pleasure. Sorry for the late reply. I just started blogging a week ago, so I am still figuring out how to respond/reply etc sorry 🙂 I’ll get better at this soon enough I’m sure.

      • I’m sure you will, too. 🙂
        By the way… have you entered my giveaway yet?? 😉

      • Healthy Glow Nutrition says:

        Thank you and no I haven’t I’ll enter now 🙂

      • Healthy Glow Nutrition says:

        Thank you and no I haven’t I’ll enter now 🙂 I added you to my page on Facebook but I have a business account not a personal one so for some reason I can’t like pages? So weird? Maybe I’m missing something I don’t know.

      • Haha, I’m not sure. 🙂 I have my personal one and my Recipes Happen one. 🙂

      • Healthy Glow Nutrition says:

        I don’t have a personal one, only got one for business reasons. My daughter told me that only personal accounts can “Like” other pages, so that answers that
        😦 sorry I guess I cannot “like” your page, but you’re on my page “Likes” list 🙂

  6. I’ve been on the lookout for a new banana bread recipe. This looks great!

Leave a Reply

