Grilled Cheese, Tomato Soup, and Skillet Mushrooms!

I saved plenty of calories today so I could have a delicious and guilt-free supper!

And trust me, it was delicious.

First of all, we had what I will call “Skillet Mushrooms,” an adaption from “Roasted Mushrooms with Garlic Butter.” I changed it just a little bit based on the ingredients I had, calorie counting, and time.

I am a huuuuge fan of mushrooms being on sale for $.59 at Aldi this week!Β  Mushrooms are so delicious and Bogdan and I both like them on practically everything.

Skillet Mushrooms

Ingredients:

1 pound mushrooms, halved or quartered

1/3 teaspoon granulated garlic

1 tablespoon olive oil

1/4 teaspoon salt

black pepper, to taste

1 tablespoon butter

1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley

Directions: Combine all ingredients in a skillet and cook on medium-high heat until mushrooms are tender.

Tomato soup, skillet mushrooms, and grilled cheese with mushrooms and tomato!

Second of all, I satisfied my craving for bread tonight with some grilled cheese sandwiches, made Bogdan-style, on the panini grill.

What I used for them:

– Marketside wheat French bread (Walmart bakery)

– American cheese

– Sliced fresh mushrooms

– Sliced tomato

Served with some tomato soup, I’ll probably still be dreaming about these tonight. πŸ™‚

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Dieting, sandwiches and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Grilled Cheese, Tomato Soup, and Skillet Mushrooms!

  1. Elizabeth E Pruett says:

    Mushrooms are a favorite of ours too. Yours look good!

  2. YUM! I love mushrooms, and so do the boys. These look easy and delicious. We’re also big toasted cheese fans. I may have to “copy” this entire meal! πŸ™‚

    Thanks for stopping by Squirrel Circus, as well!

  3. Lin says:

    Wonderful meal Bonnie. Definitely my type of meal. What kind of panini grill do you have? It’s making some yummy looking food….with you and Bogdan’s help, of course. Does the bread come sliced? I’ve never tried that bread. Looks good.

    • Our panini grill is from Meijer, I believe – it’s “Bella Kitchen” brand.
      The Marketside bread from Walmart bakery sometimes is sliced when it’s on the shelf and sometimes it’s not, but you can always ask them to slice it for no extra charge. πŸ™‚

  4. Lin says:

    Loved the soup bowl, too!

  5. These look amazing! Making me hungry. I’m a vegan but I think you inspired me to make these with soy cheese slices and the same bread….yummy. By the way I love Aldi and shop there all the time! Who does not love grilled cheese, cooked mushrooms! Perfect for a rainy cozy day!

    • You definitely should make this meal vegan-style… I’m sure it’d be just as good! Honestly… there’s only like 1 piece of cheese in this meal anyway! πŸ™‚

      Aldi is the best, and I live close enough to one to WALK there, so I can SAVE money and EXERCISE at the same time. πŸ™‚

  6. Pingback: Skillet Mushrooms + Tortilla + Cheese | Recipes Happen

  7. sk says:

    Mm. This looks so good, too. I love mushrooms.

  8. Pingback: Three-Day Menu | Recipes Happen

  9. Pingback: Menu Update + Another Menu | Recipes Happen

Leave a Reply

