My Husband the Sandwich Maker

My husband is an amazing hot sandwich maker.  Hands down; no arguments.  His grilled cheese is always perfect; his turkey and cheese is always perfect; his mushroom and cheese is always perfect… you get the idea.

However, you probably noticed a common theme: cheese and bread.  While both of these are oh-so-delicious, because of my new diet, I can’t justify eating them for breakfast!  For dinner?  Maybe one sandwich. 🙂

I thought I’d share what I drooled over this morning.  I did sneak one bite. (Don’t tell anyone!)

Mushroom Grilled Cheese

Ingredients:

– Italian Bread

– Ground black pepper

– Cheese (preferably Swiss)

– Sliced fresh mushrooms

Mushrooms are on sale for $0.59/package at Aldi this week!  We walked there this morning (yea, burned calories and didn’t use gas!) and picked some up, along with some lettuce and other healthful foods.

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Dieting, sandwiches and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My Husband the Sandwich Maker

  1. Jeanette says:

    Hi Bonnie, you are so right about cheese and bread, they are made for each other, here in Melbourne (Australia)we have the best sour dough which makes wonderful toast ! You have to keep walking to burn up those calories. I go to the gym twice a week so I can enjoy guilt free treats

  2. Suneeta says:

    There is nothing better than cheese, mushroom and bread. I have to agree to that. :), you are so right.

  3. Donna says:

    That looks delicious. Make sure you fully cook those mushroom. This family of mushroom contains carcinogens if uncooked.

Leave a Reply

