Diet: Day 1

On the days I work, I don’t usually get a good picture of any food, because it’s usually dark by the time I have supper ready, and my camera requires sunlight for tolerable pictures.  So tonight I thought I’d share what I learned from my first day of dieting.  (If you missed the memo, I’m using My Fitness Pal and am attempting to go from 128 pounds to 118.  Even if I don’t necessarily get that low, I want to exercise more and lose my belly fat and gain muscle.)  Although I don’t have much on my profile on My Fitness Pal, you’re welcome to check it out.

Things I learned:

1. Dieting is hard.

2. Keeping track of what you eat is really not that hard. (What’s hard is restraining yourself from eating things you shouldn’t.)

3. Dieting is hard.

4. I really, really like food.

5. Did I mention that dieting is hard?

Most memorable part of today: Carefully measuring out 1/5 cup of milk, because I really wanted some and that was all the calories I had left (unless I were to go out running again!).

On the agenda tomorrow?  Exercise a lot more in the morning so I “earn” more calories to consume throughout the day. 🙂

Do any of you have dieting tips?

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Dieting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Diet: Day 1

  1. vud0olady says:

    Here are some tips if you find them useful.
    – Buy leaner cuts of meat, including ground beef.
    Eat more fiber.
    Put your recipes into My Fitness Pal and look at what you can change to alter the calorie count.
    Maybe I’ll blog about some of my tips later this week. We eat pretty lowfat at my house, it’s just about the serving size and quantity and changing the small stuff. Add me if you want on FitnessPal. My username is vud0olady.

    • Thanks for the tips!!
      Embarrassingly, I’m not quite sure how to add people on FitnessPal! I should figure that out. Also, I need to figure out how to add my recipes, because currently I’m just guessing on the recipes I’ve made (meatloaf, macaroni salad, etc.) by selecting ones that are already in there. Maybe I’m not letting myself eat as many calories as I am actually allowed? Oh, I hope that’s the case. 😉
      I think that in general the food I make is fairly healthful – we’ve always made most things homemade and not nearly as fattening as store-bought things, but I just tend to eat way. too. much. 🙂
      I usually buy ground chuck. I’ve never bought ground beef; just watch for a sale on the ground chuck.

      Bonnie

      • vud0olady says:

        I’m not sure if the IPAD app is the same as the mobile app, but I go to “More…” and then “Edit Foods & Exercises”. You will then find “My Recipes” where you can add them in. I haven’t done it on the computer in a while, but I think it’s similar. It is really hard to eat smaller portions when you first start out. Your stomach will get used to it though. I’m excited because I have enough calories to dig in to some Cherry Garcia ice cream after my run tonight.

      • ooooh, niiice!! I definitely have to explore exercise more tomorrow… my 4 – minute run tonight wasn’t too helpful for my calorie-count. I think that gave me like less than a quarter cup of whole milk! LOL

  2. Brittany says:

    When I was pregnant I had a mild case of gestational diabetes. So I had to cut out nearly all carbs that came from bread, pasta and rice. It SUCKED until I got used to replacing those with veggies for my carb intake. When we do a dish like chicken alfredo now we use either spaghetti squash or just mixed veggies in place of noodles. I ended up losing 25 lbs (not on purpose!) when I was pregnant and never gained over my pre-pregnancy weight. Eat a lot of veggies and figure out where you can substitute them in place of a ‘typical’ carb; you get a lot more bang for your buck due to the extra nutrients too!

  3. Jessi says:

    Good on you for deciding to make a change and go for a healthier lifestyle. One great tip that has helped me is to remember volume. Find stuff that fills your stomach, but not your calorie budget. Fill half your plate with veggies (or fruit): baby carrots, cucumbers, cherry tomatoes. You add barely any calories, but end up feeling a lot more satisfied. Or if you want to still eat the pasta, measure out half of what you would normally eat, do up an equal amount of broccoli, spinach, or whatever veggie floats your boat. You still get your comfort food, but without the guilt. Here are two great resources that I love Spark Recipes and Mindless Eating

  4. thecleverspender says:

    I agree with Jesse. Make sure to save some calories for the foods you love everyday! It is way to hard to stick with a plan if you deprive yourself of everything. If I tell myself I can’t have something, I end up wanting it twice as much! And, usually eating twice as much as I normally would. So I tell myself I can eat anything i want – I just usually have a bite or 1/2 of a portion.

  5. vud0olady says:

    I still eat homemade waffles for breakfast and regular lunches with Fitness Pal without starving myself. I would switch to 1 percent milk if you haven’t already and use less meat in your cooking. That usually saves a lot on calories too. My best friend lost 65 lbs. by eating chicken tacos every day, but I would be tired of that the 2nd day. Sara Lee makes a 45 calorie wheat bread that is really great. I get mine at Costco because it’s half the price, if that’s not a resource then it’s kind of expensive ($5 a loaf) but totally worth it.

  6. Dani Cee says:

    Thanks for the like and the follow! I wish you lots of success – you’re going to do great!! I am looking forward to seeing the recipes that come from this journey!

  7. megan says:

    Diet tip: gain a food allergy or two. It really helps. I avoid milk, gluten, meats (actually, I’m a flexitarian) because of stuff that makes me sick. And I lost 110 pounds.

  8. Bonnie,

    I’m currently doing Weight Watchers and also following a Dietitian who also has been super helpful. I feel like for me, it’s been a slow loss but it’s been consistent and people are noticing. I could lose it faster but the way I’m going, I haven’t deprived myself at all, really. A tip that was super helpful for me from my dietitian was to look at my SCHEDULE. I was just drinking a coffee at 8 which would last me through until 10 or 11. All that time is wasted without burning calories and starting my metabolism. I try to eat now once I get into work (right now)! Also, try to cut out sugar where you can, it’ll help out a lot.

    Here are two posts I have written on my own blog about dieting, maybe they will help! It’s great to have family/friends, and other bloggers as support! I’ve found a lot of great healthy recipes that way. GOOD LUCK, AND KICK BUTT!

    http://itsgoodtobethecook.com/2012/06/19/dieting-is-hard/
    http://itsgoodtobethecook.com/2011/12/29/whos-up-for-a-challenge-healthy-lifestyle-january/

  9. messymotto says:

    I have literally the exact same weight goals as you (128 to 118) and am definitely feeling the pains of dieting. Weekends are the hardest for me. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

