Meatloaf Muffins, OH MY!

I believe it is now apparent that I never have good food ideas on my own.  However, I do enjoy “tweaking” ideas other people have and making them my own.  I found my meatloaf muffin idea here.  This blog mentioned how great the ends of meatloaf are, and this way of making meatloaf is awesome if you like meatloaf ends.

Since I am somewhat partial to My Mom’s Meatloaf (same mom as Tammy has :)), I used that recipe (basically) for the muffins, but I used partykitchen’s idea for the topping.

They’re so cute! 🙂

Meatloaf Muffins

Ingredients:

1 pound ground chuck

1/4 onion (about 1/4 cup)

1 handful of quick oats

1 egg

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/8 teaspoon black pepper

2 teaspoons ketchup

2 teaspoons milk

Topping:

1/3 cup ketchup

2 tablespoons brown sugar

1 tablespoon mustard

Directions:

1. Mix together, with hands, all the meatloaf ingredients.  Grease a 12-cup muffin pan.  Place a small ball of meat in each cup, and press down.

2.  Mix together sauce ingredients, and dab a little on top of each muffin.

3. Bake at 350° F for approximately 25 minutes, or until done.

This is definitely a new favorite of mine!

Was this post helpful to you?  Don’t forget to follow for more great updates!

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Beef Entrees and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Meatloaf Muffins, OH MY!

  1. petit4chocolatier says:

    Very cute idea! I am going to make these. Thank you for sharing the recipe!

  2. awwww these are so cute! I absolutely love portion control sized food!

  3. beckado says:

    I made meatloaf muffins today – will be posting about them later this week. Love they idea because they help control portions!

  4. Love this idea! I may try with turkey burgers 🙂 Thanks!

  5. OMG … amazing!!! I suppose you can also use them as part of a pasta meal … a spaghetti and meatballs of sorts!

  6. synthetikat says:

    This is awesome and looks like a great way to portion control! Assuming oversized muffin pans aren’t used 😀

  7. Pingback: Heavenly Breakfast: Muffin Pan Eggs | Recipes Happen

  8. TJ says:

    Meatloaf Muffins are awesome (im on the same muffin pan kick), My wife and I were making them once a couple years ago, and had a bright idea… You put frosting on cupcakes, why not find a better topper for the meatloaf muffins… Check out our take on this one at her blog… http://missperfectlyimperfect.wordpress.com/2010/08/16/meatloaf-and-mashed-potato-muffins/

    Keep sharing these great recipes… 🙂

  9. Elizabeth E Pruett says:

    I have made these twice now, and we love them. Thanks for the recipe!

  10. Pingback: Saturday Upsides: Fun things about having a food blog | Recipes Happen

Leave a Reply

