Waffle Iron Hash Browns

I saw an awesome idea on this blog about making hash browns in a waffle iron!  I decided I had to give it a shot.  I haven’t tried to make hash browns in years, mostly because they never seem to stay together in patties or whatever-else-shape I try to form!

This was a really neat way to make them!  It definitely wasn’t a fast frying method, but it was pretty easy.

Waffle Iron Hash Browns

Ingredients:

5 (or so!) potatoes, peeled and shredded

1/4 medium onion, chopped fine

3/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon garlic powder

1/4 teaspoon black pepper

olive oil

1. Mix all the ingredients together (except the olive oil).

2. Liberally grease the waffle iron, and plug it in.  When it’s hot, scoop the potato mixture onto the iron and close the lid.  Resist the urge to lift the lid for quite a while.  Depending on the thickness of your “waffles,” it may take as long as 10 minutes to get them nice and crispy.

Important: If you don’t want a “waffle hash brown mound,” make sure you re-grease the iron every time you put more potatoes on!  I have an “olive oil mister” that works great for greasing the iron.

I think I just died a little inside… this thing is amazing!

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Waffle Iron Hash Browns

  1. Deirdre says:

    Thanks for stopping by Lauerland! I’m enjoying your recipes as well. I might have to buy a waffle maker just to make these… yum!!

  2. bahia says:

    What a fantastic idea! It’s great to know that a waffle maker can be more versatile then just for waffles!

  3. cool! what an ingenious idea!

  4. raudette says:

    Hashbrowns are my favorite and these look amazing!! Great idea for a brunch party!

  5. J L says:

    Love this idea! I’ll be trying this. Thanks for following HardHeadVegan, too!

  6. These look great! A friend and I once had some leftover mashed potatoes: I added some curry powder and peas (think samosa filling), and threw them in the waffle iron. Delicious!

  7. pettigrove76 says:

    Great idea! I’ll have to try this as a special at work since I don’t have a waffle iron at home.

  8. petit4chocolatier says:

    This looks so good!

  9. Oh my gosh, why didn’t I think of this!? I will have to try this next weekend… Great Idea…

Leave a Reply

