Kitchen Tip Tuesdays: Keep Low-Calorie Drinks Handy

Click here to see the rest of this week’s Kitchen Tip Tuesdays!

I think everyone knows that drinking water at a restaurant will give you a lot lower calorie-count than drinking an extra-large soda, but unfortunately there are also a lot of other drinks that seem appealing that can be just as damaging to your diet.

Example: The great-looking Minute Maid in my fridge.

Calorie count in 8 ounces? 120!  Yikes!

However, while it’s great to say “don’t drink all your calories,” it’s harder to make yourself drink low-calorie beverages when usually the high-calorie ones look really, really appetizing.

My tip: Keep Low-Calorie Drinks Handy

How:

1. I like refrigerated water.  We have a pitcher of water in the fridge, and therefore water is more appealing to me.

Calorie count?  Approximately 2!

2. Drink tea!  I hadn’t make enough tea recently because my tea was not in a convenient place.  Keep a few bags close to the stove in a drawer – tea is healthful and low-calorie.  If your house is really warm in the summer, make brewed iced tea (with no sugar, or very little).

3. If you don’t really care for plain water, go for the True Lime or True Lemon flavor packets rather than sugary (or artificially sweetened) water flavoring.

4. Keep a water bottle with you.  If you have a water bottle with you you’re less likely to want to stop at McDonald’s for a soda or Starbucks for the newest oh-so-delicious-and-sugary frappachino.  And hey, it’s good to drink a lot of water, anyway!

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Kitchen Tip and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Kitchen Tip Tuesdays: Keep Low-Calorie Drinks Handy

  1. Jaclynn says:

    I should like for True Lemon Or Lime again…
    I also like the Emergen-C or the Ester C packets, I get vitamins that way and it tastes great as well!

    • I am not a huge fan of the Emergen-C taste… but have not tried Ester C. 🙂

      I love True Lemon or True Lime, though. 🙂

    • ngnrdgrl says:

      I also like Emergen-C. I also like flavored, sparkling waters. I sometimes mix the Emergen-C packets into the sparkling waters for a little more flavor and carbonation. The flavored waters give me the carbonation, which hopefully tricks me out of drinking soda regularly.

  2. 'Becca says:

    Great tips! Another option with lemon/lime is to keep a bottle of the juice in your refrigerator door and add a splash to your water. I’m sure it costs less than the packets, and it makes less trash. You just have to do it often enough that your juice doesn’t get old–but that takes 3 or 4 months.

Leave a Reply

