Doing Laundry without Breaking the Bank or Back

Living in an apartment does come with a few challenges, although it also eliminates others.

We have to walk farther to get our mail, do our laundry, and carry in groceries; but we don’t have to mow our lawn or fix our roof.

Problem: Because we have to walk to our laundry area, there is no way I’m going to carry a jug of laundry detergent that weighs half as much as I do.  However, that is the only way to buy laundry soap if you want a good price!

Solution: I bought one small bottle of laundry soap, and also had one that was given to me when I got married.  I saved them when they emptied, and refilled them from the big bottle.

This only takes a minute and saves so much effort and money.

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Kitchen Tip, Laundry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Doing Laundry without Breaking the Bank or Back

  1. Melissa says:

    Nice!! I usually just fill the lid of the big container. I have a laundry basket with wheels. It was a necessity if the hubby didn’t want to do laundry with me 😉

    • I’d like to get one of those ones with wheels… so I can look like all the old women, straggly women who live in our apartment complex! 😉
      But hey, at least they do their laundry.

  2. nice! AND you’re keeping plastic out of landfills. That’s green!!!

    • True! I have found that so many REAL green things are cheaper than not being green – like this idea.
      It’s all fine and good to recycle, but to use disposable diapers for your babies at the same time? I think hypocritical. haha. 🙂
      I’m all for cheap green things!

  3. 1smartcookie says:

    Great Ideas, I generally use those small PODS of detergent and simply only take the number I need with me, instead of having to carry the detergent bottles.. NOw if i can find little pods that work for everything else, .. bleach, stain remover, softener..lol

  4. I’ve found using the pods is actually cheaper for me.
    If the container says 30 loads – I’ll get 30 loads out of it.
    If using the liquid/powder, I find I don’t always measure and never get the full # of loads from it.
    I know I’ve gotten 60 load advertised cheap laundry soap and never got close to that many.
    Maybe try counting if you really do get the # of loads out of your laundry detergent?
    Maybe I’m just horrible at measuring 😀 Would be curious to know…
    Same goes for dishwasher pods.

Leave a Reply

