Tomatoes & Black Beans Over Pasta

(The recipe I am going to share is an adaption from Tammy’s Recipes – Tomatoes and Black Beans over Pasta.)

Today has been so dreary!  It’s almost impossible to get a good picture in my poor-windowless-kitchen, so I resorted to setting my plate on my air conditioner for this picture. 😛

On Sunday, I got some tomatoes from Walmart for $0.99/lb – priced matched from Meijer this week.  Barilla pasta is also on sale at Meijer this week, 10/$10, so I picked up some more of my favorite kinds! (Barilla pasta is the best brand I’ve tried.)

Some of you may be looking at that picture sceptically.  I admit, my husband was the same way.  He asked with some concern, “Did you make up this recipe?” to which I replied, “No, it’s almost exactly like something I had at Tammy’s house a long time ago.”

So here’s how I made it –

Combine in medium bowl:

2 tomatoes, diced (or more, but that’s all I had!)

1 can black beans, drained (or use some dried beans you revived, if you plan ahead!)

about 1 tablespoon olive oil

about 1 tablespoon lemon juice

about 1/4 cup Italian dressing

salt & pepper to taste

granulated garlic & onion to taste (or fresh, if you’ve got it!)

Next, cook your favorite kind of pasta.  I chose penne.  After pasta is drained, run cold water over it until it’s cool.

Finally, serve with bean/tomato mixture over pasta.

For the record, my husband did like this dish. 🙂 It was quick, easy, and it seems to me like it’d be healthful. 😉

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Side Dishes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tomatoes & Black Beans Over Pasta

  1. Elizabeth E Pruett says:

    Looks good to me!

Leave a Reply

