How I [Finally!] Organized My Coupons!

I really wanted to get into “couponing” when I got married.  I know that this is a process – you don’t become a coupon expert overnight!

I, personally, always thought the couponers I saw looked dorky – no way was I going to haul a 3-ring-binder the size of a small child around in my cart at Walmart!

So, I opted for what seemed like the easy way out.  When I saw coupons, I’d pick them up (or print them) and try to pair them with sales and get good deals.  Unfortunately, I looked much dorkier than the 3-ring-binder folks, because I was sorting through a pile of crumpled coupons from my purse on my way through the store, dropping some on the floor in the process, I’m sure.

I didn’t like most of the ways I’d seen people organize coupons.  Not only did I not want the 3-ring-binder, but a big box with dividers didn’t seem any more appealing to me.

Today I finally decided I’d had enough of my pseudo couponing, and decided to go at it full-force. (We’ll see how this works!)  I was inspired by this coupon, which if used at Rite Aid this week, gets you two milky way candy bars for free! (I have a chocolate-addict husband.)

Since coupons are usually for brand-name items, I usually need to wait for a sale to make them worth using, rather than just buying the generic at regular price.  Coupons usually have about a month’s date, or maybe up to a year.  If you have your coupons organized, you can use them when there’s a sale.

So I did it.

I made a coupon organizer.  And I have no shame about how it looks.

See? Totally not shameful!

I already had this notebook leftover from some school supply sale a couple years ago.  It’s a nice one with a pock in the first page, but you could definitely just use a regular notebook (which they have for $0.17 at Walmart right now).

I had also gotten the post-it tabs as a school supply sale before, but this is definitely the time of year to buy things like that!  I estimate the cost of this coupon organizer at less than $2 total, even if you go out and buy everything you need. (I had everything already.)

On my post-it tabs, I have fairly wide categories, with space to add more categories if necessary.  Inside, I taped small (cheap!) white envelopes on the pages.

On the first page, where I have a pocket, I wrote “Use Today,” so as I shop I can pull the coupons I’m going to use from their categories and place them all in one place.  No more sorting ten times; no more dropping. 🙂

Some Dannon Activia coupons I picked up at the pharmacy several weeks ago.  They are good for a year, but I’m almost out.  This week, this yogurt is on sale at Kroger for $1.76/4-pack, so it’s only $0.76 after my coupon!

We’ll pick those up soon. 🙂 Rite Aid is very nearby, but I could also price-match their sale at Walmart, and get the same deal.

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Couponing! and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How I [Finally!] Organized My Coupons!

  1. Jaclynn says:

    Nice way to organize! I love couponing..or should I say, I love getting a good deal/freebies! Way to go! 😀

  2. Pingback: Today, you can call me “The Super Coupon Lady” « Recipes Happen

  3. Chad says:

    Awesome coupon organizer. I like your take on the binder method. If you ever struggle with where to place your binder while you shop check out the Carttiara. It is so cool.

Leave a Reply

