Yummy Yellow Squash!

Ready to cook!

I wanted to make some fresh green beans as as side for dinner.

Problem: I didn’t have any fresh green beans. (However, I might get some for $0.77/pound at Meijer this week!)

I did, however, have some yellow squash!

Mmm, mmm.

Before I got married, I would use seasoned salt or “spike” to season cooked yellow squash, but I don’t have either of those.

Yummy Yellow Squash

I used (to season two chopped yellow squashes):

– about 1 tablespoon butter

– water just to cover the bottom of saucepan

– salt to taste

– about 2-3 tablespoons Italian salad dressing

– about 1/2 teaspoon of a European seasoning called “Vegeta,” from Romania

Delicious!


About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Side Dishes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yummy Yellow Squash!

  1. Lin says:

    Looks so good! Yellow squash is good. I may have to try the Vegeta seasoning. Does the bag say what is in it? I’m eager to see how you do your green beans.

    • I’m eager to the buy the green beans because I’ve been wanting fresh green beans for a while 🙂

      Hmm… As far as what is in the “Vegeta” seasoning – it’s supposed to be “a unique combination of vegetables and spices.” lol My bag has everything written in Romanian. In a way it reminds me of the spices for vegetable stock (as opposed to chicken or beef stock). I use Vegeta to season chicken a lot, along with other spices. It also, for sure, has salt in it.

Leave a Reply

