The Best Chocolate Chip Cookies [And something new I tried!]

Several weeks ago I made chocolate chip cookies, but I wasn’t sure how many Bogdan and I would use while they were still fresh.  I froze a portion of the dough in a cylindrical shape to use at a later date. (Side note: I would not have needed to freeze any dough.  We ate those cookies very, very quickly.  Keep this in mind when I share the recipe.)

I had never frozen cookie dough before, and judging from my track record, I thought the chances of the post-frozen-dough cookies turning out well were slim to none.

Thankfully, I was mistaken!

I got the dough out of the freezer last night and put it into the refrigerator to thaw.

Today I half sliced, half broke the dough apart and formed it into cookie circles, baked them at the normal temperature for the normal length, and my chocolate chip cookies were amazing!!  And really, I wouldn’t say that if it weren’t true.

So I will share my recipe, which I originally got from my sister-in-law Mariel.  It is the best (and easiest to make turn out well!) chocolate chip cook recipe I have ever used.  They are so soft and chewy without being “doughy!”

 

Chocolate Chip Cookies

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking soda

3/4 cup packed brown sugar

3/4 cup white sugar

1 cup butter, softened or melted

1 teaspoon vanilla

2 eggs

8-12 ounces chocolate chips, depending on your preference

1/2 cup unsweetened coconut, optional (I absolutely love coconut in chocolate chip cookies!)

 

Directions:

Combine wet ingredients (butter, vanilla, eggs).  Combine dry ingredients separately.  Mix together.

Drop (or form) rounded teaspoonfuls of dough onto greased cookie sheets.  Bake for 8-10 minutes at 375 degrees Fahrenheit.  After baking, let set on cookie sheets for approximately 2 minutes.  Remove with spatula and place on wire racks to cool. (As shown in top picture.)

I greased my cookie sheet with olive oil, so you can see the “beads” of oil on it in this picture.

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in cookies, Desserts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Best Chocolate Chip Cookies [And something new I tried!]

  1. Lin says:

    This looks like a keeper for sure. I want to try this cookie recipe. Thanks to Mariel for sharing it with you..and thanks to you for sharing it with us. I like the idea of freezing some of the dough. I will try that as well. Keep it up Bonnie…you’re doing an excellent job. You and Tammy realy know how to do interesting blogs. I always learn something.

    • Aw, thanks!! 🙂

      I really appreciate your comments! It keeps me going. 🙂 I am trying to be interesting. 🙂 I hope more people start agreeing with you! 🙂

  2. Breaking up cookies is definitely good for texture. Nice trick 🙂

  3. Pingback: Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake | Recipes Happen

Leave a Reply

