Staying Home – Spending Less

My car’s air conditioning stopped working this summer, and we were given pretty dismal news in regard to the cost of fixing it.  I decided to just use it as it is, and believe me – these summer days are not making travel easy.  It’s currently 101.9 degrees Fahrenheit according to wunderground.com.  Personally, I think “101.9” should only be a radio station.

Bogdan’s car has air conditioning, but is currently in the shop.  Hopefully it gets fixed soon and lasts for many, many years. 🙂

Although I really, really, really wish my air conditioning hadn’t gone out, I realized that because it’s so miserable to go anywhere, we’ve haven’t been spending as much money on gas, food, or anything else.  We’ve had to think of creative ways to avoid driving anywhere.

So what have we been doing with our time? (When we’re not cleaning or working, or melting on the way to/from work)

1. Cooking!!

We do have air conditioning in our apartment, and it’s actually not a bad deal.  Our electricity is included in the rent we pay, but we do have to pay an additional $15 a month to use our air conditioner (which we bought) for June, July, and August.  To me, it’s well worth the $15 a month to be able to cook, bake, or do anything I want and still have an incredibly comfortable home.

This enables me to save us money by not eating out and using what we buy on sale.  When it’s a bearable temperature to cook it’s much easier!

The pool at our apartment complex

2.Swimming!! – dual purpose!  Stay cool plus exercise!

Our apartment complex has a pool, so we don’t even have to drive to get to the pool.  I have never been a good swimmer, but Bogdan is, and he’s been helping me get better.  Not only do we stay cool and get some sun, but it’s also good exercise for someone like me with a little excess fat around the middle right now.

3. Games!!

We don’t have a lot of selection right now, but we have enjoyed some Monopoly with friends. 🙂

4. Netflix!!

We have a free trial, and it has been quite enjoyable. 🙂

5. Reading!!

Bogdan has been reading a really good book called The Talent Code.

Staying home is the best way to save money, in my opinion. (Except when I get sucked into Amazon deals… but that’s another story for anther time.)

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Saving Money and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Staying Home – Spending Less

  1. tammysrecipes says:

    Your a/c is definitely a good deal!! 😀 That pool looks really nice! Is it really full on hot days? And what hours is it open? 🙂 I’ll have to look up that book. I’ve been into reading a bunch lately! (non-fiction)

    • No, the pool is never really full! No arguments from us! Today it is over 100 degrees and there were 4 other people when we got there, and 2 when we left. PRETTY AWESOME.
      Four other people is the most we’ve ever had with us, even on the 4th of July! It’s open 1-8… just adults between 7-8, but it’s not like there’s ever anyone else there anyway. LOL. I really wish it were open more, but I guess you can’t have everything.
      You can get that book on Amazon with all the swagbucks I’ve been earning you. HAHA.

      • tammysrecipes says:

        Cool! Our apartment pool would get pretty full on the warm days. 🙂

        No, no, no… I will get it at the library. Sheesh. 🙂

      • Haha!
        I got a ton of swagbucks for signing up for a free trial of netflix in MY name today, since Bogdan’s would have run out tomorrow!!

Leave a Reply

