Wheat Bread, Perfect Broccoli, and Pasta & Meatballs!

I had yesterday and today off work, so you can imagine what I’ve been doing.

When I’m not uploading wedding pictures to this album while listening to my husband practice violin, I’ve been doing some cooking.

Bogdan has been bugging me to make some homemade bread (other than pizza crust! haha), so I finally did yesterday.  I used my sister Tammy’s recipe for wheat bread, and it was (and still is!) delicious and soft.  I did the 100% whole wheat version, my only change being that I used maple syrup instead of honey because I’m out of honey at the moment.

My bread right before I baked it

For lunch today I decided to make spaghetti & meatballs, because I had some ground chuck I’d gotten at Meijer on Sunday for $1.99/lb.  I used some for hamburgers on Sunday, froze some, and had some remaining.  I only had one package of spaghetti and decided to save it, so instead of spaghetti noodles I used penne pasta.  The only difference between pastas is the shape anyway, I figure.

Our lunch today

I had also gotten fresh broccoli on Sunday at Meijer, and used some for broccoli soup yesterday.  Today I made some cooked broccoli on the side – a favorite of mine!

The only ingredients I used in the broccoli were –

– About 3 tablespoons of water

– About 1 tablespoon of butter

– Salt

It doesn’t get better than that – cooked just until tender.

We don’t have many Independence Day plans, but my husband plays tonight in a concert for Lima Symphony.  It’s a patriotic concert, of course.  Maybe we should have some hotdogs for supper tonight to celebrate. 🙂

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Beef Entrees, Bread, Broccoli, Pasta & Meatballs, Side Dishes, Whole Wheat Bread and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Wheat Bread, Perfect Broccoli, and Pasta & Meatballs!

  1. Good going, Bonnie! It all looks great. Happy Independence Day!

  2. Lin says:

    What a great looking meal. Yum! How did Bogdan do at the symphony? I think we need to see a pic of him all jazzed up? I almost said..all dolled up! Sorry…. I don’t know what they say for guys.. all decked out? I don’t know. lol Hotdogs wouldbe good. We had homemade hamburgers, french fries from the oven and baked beans. Maybe ‘all spiffed up” …I’m still stuck on that…lol I’m too tired to think! 🙂

    • Haha, that’s funny 🙂 🙂
      I’ll have to post a picture sometime. I didn’t end up going to the concert because it was outdoors and I didn’t want to sit in the 100 degree weather… lol. It went fine but was really HOT and HUMID, he said. 🙂
      Maybe all “jazzed up” would work 😀
      haha.

  3. Danielle B says:

    I’m a everything but spaghetti/fettuccine/angel hair pasta girl. Any other shape! Altho, once and a while I will use the spaghetti noodles. Not often tho!

    I’ll have to try the perfect broccoli.. I hate overdone broccoli!

  4. looks delicious I LOVE meatballs 🙂
    I will definitely be trying that bread recipe!

  5. Pingback: Spaghetti and Meatballs, and Chick Peas | Recipes Happen

  6. Pingback: Menu Update + Another Menu | Recipes Happen

Leave a Reply

