The [long-awaited] Cheesecake Disaster [involving the smoke alarm]

Recently I decided to make cheesecake.

I’d never made cheesecake before, but how hard could it be?

So here’s my story.

Part 1 – The Good Intentions

I asked Bogdan to look online for a good cheesecake recipe, because I was going to make some cheesecake.  Since he doesn’t like regular cake but loves cheesecake, it was no trouble for him to immediately sit down at the computer and start browsing cheesecake recipes.  Using our favorite search engine, Swagbucks, he came up with this fabulous-oh-so-amazing-so-mouthwatering cheesecake recipe.

Recipe on the Food Network

See?

“Yes, please!” is what I was thinking!  I promptly printed it out and we went to the store to get ingredients.  I am not one to typically run to the store for ingredients for a specific recipe, but we needed things anyway, live about a quarter mile from the store, and this was a special occasion. (How could making that cheesecake not be?)

Part 2 – The Beginnings

Ingredients all bought, it was time to start.

The first thing I noticed was that this recipe called for a 9-inch springform pan.

“How much different can an 8-inch pan really be?” I thought, as I looked down at my only springform pan – a good deal I had snagged at TJ Maxx shortly before the wedding.  I decided that it should fit – just maybe be a little taller.

Part 3 – The Accuracy

I followed every part of the directions 99%, which is a big deal for me.  The only thing I changed was using extra vanilla extract in place of the almond extract, which shouldn’t really affect the cheesecake that much if you ask me.

Part 4 – Baking

I didn’t see any specifics on the recipe about which shelf in the oven on which to place the cheesecake.  I recently got an oven thermometer because my epic green oven is extra hot.  I cautiously adjusted the oven dial until the thermometer matched the recipe.  I was not going to screw this up!!  I decided to bake it on the top shelf.  I had no previous experience with cheesecakes, but it seemed like a wise decision.

I noticed that the “batter” was pretty high up in the pan, but I (foolishly!) thought to myself,

“It’s a cheesecake!  There is no leavening in it.  It’s not going to rise!  It’ll be just fine.”

I set the timer for a short time so I could come back and check on how my cheesecake was doing.

Part 5 – The Disaster

When I came back, much to my surprise, the cheesecake had risen greatly!  I still don’t know how that was possible, but believe me, it happened!!  Not only had it risen, but because it was only in an 8-inch pan and on the top shelf, it was touching the top element in my oven!

“Oh no,” I thought.  I decided I would have to brave the hot oven and slide it out, carefully move the shelf down, and place it back in.

Silly, Silly me.

When I tried to gently pull it out, the top of the cheesecake fell off – onto the red-hot element at the bottom of the oven.

“Now I’ve done it!” I thought, as I started to smell burning cheesecake.

I didn’t know what to do.  The oven was 350 degrees and, I gathered from the red-hot coals of my cheesecake, the element was on.

The smoke alarm went off while I was trying to decide what to do, generously alerting Bogdan (and his brother, with whom he was on the phone!) of my predicament.

I set the cheesecake on the stove and turned off the oven.  I scooped up the burned cheesecake with a spatula and put it down my garbage disposal – I didn’t want to risk putting it in the trashcan because the cheesecake resembled red-hot coals!

I moved the shelf to put the cheesecake back in my oven.

I finished the baking of my now-ugly cheesecake.

Part 6 – The conclusion

Now would you believe what my cheesecake did as it sat, cooling?

That devil sank down like crazy.  You’d never believe it rose at all!!

This recipe tasted delicious, but it was a little overdone when I made it. 😉 I also opted to spread the chocolate topping all over instead of drizzling, because it didn’t look like drizzling would improve its looks at all.

A piece of my very unfortunate-looking cheesecake

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Cheesecake, Desserts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The [long-awaited] Cheesecake Disaster [involving the smoke alarm]

  1. Elizabeth E Pruett says:

    It “happens.” 🙂 Alton Brown had an episode on Good Eats about cheesecake that was excellent if you can find it. Using his methods, my brother David can make the best cheesecakes ever! I am glad yours tasted good. That is what counts, anyway!

  2. Lin says:

    You are brave to attempt making one. As long as it was edible. I love stories like this one. You’re going to be a great blogger. I would have eaten it. 🙂

    • Thanks for the compliments, Lin 🙂

      I tried to write it like something I would like to read, because I love stories like that, too!!

      I wish you could have eaten some with me. 🙂

  3. tammysrecipes says:

    Now that is hilarious! I just read this whole post to Joshua and he was LOL with me!! Dear Bonobo, your first mistake was not consulting your brother-in-law’s amazing cheesecake recipes online. 😉 Seriously though, next time call me for tips! And just FYI the slow-baked New York cheesecake recipe on my site is the best ever. 🙂

    • haha, glad you enjoyed. 🙂
      Now you just need to link to this post from your blog 😉 haha.
      I know Joshua has some good recipes.
      This recipe was delicious, though!! I just didn’t do something quite right. LOL

      • tammysrecipes says:

        Well, did you beat the batter with your mixer on high speed? That could be why it rose so much (air incorporated). Okay, I just looked at the recipe you linked to — and it says to beat it like that. Well, that’s probably why it rose so high (they do rise, some, but it’s better if they rise very little). 🙂 Beat on low or stir by hand! 🙂

      • I had no idea! I beat it on high a LOT… I figured, the more the better!! 😉

  4. m@riA says:

    oh my gosh! your story almost mirrors mine! except my cheesecake, courtesy of dripping butter, smoked out my oven and when i opened the oven door, my room filled with smoke. thankfully my smoke alarm didn’t go off!

  5. Pingback: Recipes that didn’t Happen: Pizza Biscuits | Recipes Happen

  6. Pingback: What went wrong with this Dessert? | Recipes Happen

  7. Pingback: Saturday Upsides: Second Chances | Recipes Happen

  8. Pingback: Swirled Raspberry and Chocolate Cheescake | Recipes Happen

Leave a Reply

