Kitchen Tip Tuesdays – Spices in a Small Kitchen

When we moved into our home after our wedding, I had a stack of bulk spices that will last me for a very, very long time.  However, my kitchen cupboards barely hold my dishes, let alone food or spices!

I was excited to receive, as a wedding gift, a small spice holder.  It has a glass stand with magnetic circles on it that hold the metal spice containers.  However, I was only able to fit about one-third of my various spices in those containers.  Because they are within easy reach while cooking, I tried to choose my “most popular” spices for those containers.

I found, actually at a dollar store, some other really small containers – 4 for 88 cents!  In these, I also put small portions of my various spices and all the rest of my spices now fit in an extra bread pan in my cupboard above my stove.

All my back-up spice-refiller containers are tucked away on a pantry shelf – only to be used when something runs low. 🙂

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Kitchen Tip, Orginization and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Kitchen Tip Tuesdays – Spices in a Small Kitchen

  1. Heather says:

    Great idea! I need to get some of these small containers for things like this. Thanks for stopping by my blog. Your sister’s blog was my inspiration for starting a blog. She’s the best! I wish you all the best with your new blog and look forward to all of your ideas and recipes. 🙂

    Heather

  2. ohiocook says:

    Like your blog, I’ll be a follower. Thank you for reading my blog and following.

  3. Kelli C says:

    Someday when I have a huge kitchen I’m going to have one cabinet JUST for spices 🙂

    • me too!!!
      My parents built a house when I was in my early teens, and they have a really big kitchen with awesome custom cabinets. (So far from my little apartment it’s not even funny!)
      It was a ton of fun to have cupboards just for spices, 3 drawers just for tea, etc. 🙂 Now I have 3 drawers TOTAL. lol 🙂

  4. mayihavethatrecipe says:

    My spice cabinet is about to burst! You post reminded me that I need to do come clean up. I love having a lots of spices around. When I don’t have enough room I keep some of my spices in the freezer.

  5. vud0olady says:

    I’ll admit, I have a big kitchen, but I love having my spices close so I have them organized in a drawer next to the stove. Have you thought about getting a metal sheet or magnetic board and hanging it on the wall in your kitchen. Then you can glue magnets to the back of your spice containers and that way you have access to more than just 9? Not sure if you have wall space in your kitchen or not.

    • I don’t have too much wall space in my kitchen, but that is a good idea. Honestly, I don’t have much space for anything in my kitchen. Haha. 🙂 (My entire apartment is less than 500 square feet.)
      Those 9 are my most-well-used and it’s worked so far.
      Thanks for the idea!!

  6. Leilani says:

    Super clever tips! Super clever title! I’m going hunting for dollar store containers now…

  7. Brook says:

    Dollar stores are wonderful:)

  8. Mike Neff says:

    I’ve been looking to get or make a spice rack like this! Very cool!

  9. Pingback: Kitchen Tip Tuesday: Using Space Wisely! | Recipes Happen

Leave a Reply

